AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS > Linux

Linux Questions and information concerning Linux


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2008, 07:27 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I upgraded the wife's lappy to F10, and she seems to like it. I also installed Wine for some of her Windows games. Unfortunately, a great many of them still don't work under Wine, but she's at least got a few more than she had.

In answer to your question, Cliff, Hibernate and Suspend seem to work just fine; then again, they were working fine under F9 as well. However, the battery detection seems to be a bit problematic (under both F9 and F10). Sometimes it shows that it is completely discharged, other times it shows that it is completely charged. However, that COULD be due to the motherboard (it's been swapped once due to issues with power).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2008, 07:52 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
Robbie! Your going to dig 10 SOOOO much! LOL
Downloading now. I figured I can at least get the ISO and burn it when I get home.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2008, 06:35 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

So yea, done a few more F10 installs for various people, very solid, very fast. Only gripe so far is Pidgin is unstable.

But its always been slightly rubbish.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2008, 07:57 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

They say it boots 10 seconds faster, can't swear to this, but does seem a bit quicker...
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2008, 10:30 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Its actually possible to disable more stuff you dont use and further improve boot time.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2008, 07:02 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

How complicated is the process?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2008, 05:45 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Updated my office lappy to F10. Once again, the upgrade went smooth as silk. All in all, a very nice experience. As is typical with Linux kernel upgrades, I had to recompile my nVidia and VirtualBox drivers (nVidia because they are proprietary, and VirtualBox because, well, I guess they are sort-of proprietary too).

The system seems to feel rock solid, though to be fair I wasn't experiencing any stability issues before. Suspend and Hibernate work just fine.

@Daniel: if you go to your System|Admin menu, you'll see a Services tool. It works similarly to the services applet in Windows. I can't give you an exhaustive list of what you can turn off, though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2008, 06:58 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

You can get dsio to show you how to get Nvidia drivers to Yum update...If ya do please do it in forums as I've lost my instructions...":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2008, 10:26 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I actually do it the manual way, as I use beta drivers alot which Livna don't consider stable yet.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 9th December, 2008, 06:29 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

My setup still works great, still updating nvidia... I just can't duplicate it on another machine...":O]
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 9th December, 2008, 07:44 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
You can get dsio to show you how to get Nvidia drivers to Yum update...If ya do please do it in forums as I've lost my instructions...":O}
I use the nVidia drivers direct from nVidia, although I also have the Livna repository loaded for some other stuff.

Last edited by Gizmo; 9th December, 2008 at 07:44 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2008, 11:45 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Ok two bothersome problems if you please!

My new USB logitech keyboard barely initializes in time for me to hit Del to inter the bios. I can't hit F8 in time! I have to hook up a PS keyboard! ( Asus board is, I think at fault....?

Also There are boot messages about my CPU config I can't read....How can I read my boot up log?

TIA! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2008, 12:45 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
Ok two bothersome problems if you please!

My new USB logitech keyboard barely initializes in time for me to hit Del to inter the bios. I can't hit F8 in time! I have to hook up a PS keyboard! ( Asus board is, I think at fault....?
If the BIOS doesn't give you an option to initialize the USB keyboard first, then it's probably a BIOS problem; it's just not initializing the USB keyboard early enough in the POST.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~
Also There are boot messages about my CPU config I can't read....How can I read my boot up log?

TIA! ":O}
Look in /var/log/boot.log

Last edited by Gizmo; 16th December, 2008 at 12:48 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2008, 03:28 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizmo View Post
If the BIOS doesn't give you an option to initialize the USB keyboard first, then it's probably a BIOS problem; it's just not initializing the USB keyboard early enough in the POST.



Look in /var/log/boot.log
Thank you. I turned off express gate...which doesn't work with Fedora and that did it! ":O}

Ah...how do I do that? ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2008, 03:43 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
Thank you. I turned off express gate...which doesn't work with Fedora and that did it! ":O}

Ah...how do I do that? ":O}
Just open it with the Text Editor (gedit) or similar. It's a flat text file.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2008, 08:32 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

My ASUS X48 board has the same problem with not initializing USB early enough, its so bad that I have a wireless PS2 keyboard in a drawer turned off until I need it.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2008, 07:06 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio View Post
My ASUS X48 board has the same problem with not initializing USB early enough, its so bad that I have a wireless PS2 keyboard in a drawer turned off until I need it.
Me to! LOL

But is seems dumping the Asus gate brought everything right. USB keyboad is now the bomb! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2008, 07:10 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizmo View Post
Just open it with the Text Editor (gedit) or similar. It's a flat text file.
OK now what? I'm sorry, I realize how hard it is to grasp my cluelessness...":O}
Attached Thumbnails
Fedora 10...another failed courtship?-gedit-shot.png  
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2008, 07:27 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

pop this in a terminal window and paste the output for us:

cat /var/log/boot.log
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2008, 07:36 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

[Daniel@dhcppc2 ~]$ cat /var/log/boot.log
Could not detect stabilization, waiting 10 seconds.
Reading all physical volumes. This may take a while...
Found volume group "VolGroup00" using metadata type lvm2
2 logical volume(s) in volume group "VolGroup00" now active
Welcome to Fedora
Press 'I' to enter interactive startup.
Starting udev: [ OK ]
Setting hostname localhost.localdomain: [ OK ]
Setting up Logical Volume Management: 2 logical volume(s) in volume group "VolGroup00" now active
[ OK ]
Checking filesystems
/dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00: clean, 209832/72712192 files, 17165702/72712192 blocks
/boot: clean, 36/26104 files, 17364/104388 blocks
[ OK ]
Remounting root filesystem in read-write mode: [ OK ]
Mounting local filesystems: [ OK ]
Enabling local filesystem quotas: [ OK ]
Enabling /etc/fstab swaps: [ OK ]
Entering non-interactive startup
Applying Intel CPU microcode update: [ OK ]
ip6tables: Applying firewall rules: Warning: never matched protocol: 51. use extension match instead.
[ OK ]
iptables: Applying firewall rules: [ OK ]
iptables: Loading additional modules: ip_conntrack_netbios_[ OK ]
Checking for module nvidia.ko: [ OK ]
Enabling the nvidia driver: Driver already enabled.
[ OK ]
Bringing up loopback interface: [ OK ]
Bringing up interface eth0:
Determining IP information for eth0...Nothing to flush.
done.
[ OK ]
Starting auditd: [ OK ]
Starting irqbalance: [ OK ]
Starting rpcbind: [ OK ]
Starting NFS statd: [ OK ]
Starting RPC idmapd: [ OK ]
Loading fuse module.
Mounting fuse control filesystem.
Mounting other filesystems: [ OK ]
Starting lm_sensors: not configured, run sensors-detect [WARNING]
Starting PC/SC smart card daemon (pcscd): [ OK ]
Starting system logger: rsyslogd: WARNING: rsyslogd is running in compatibility mode. Automatically generated config directives may interfer with your rsyslog.conf settings. We suggest upgrading your config and adding -c3 as the first rsyslogd option.
[ OK ]
Starting system message bus: [ OK ]
Loading autofs4: [ OK ]
Starting automount: [ OK ]
Starting portreserve: [ OK ]
Starting sshd: [ OK ]
Starting ntpd: [ OK ]
Starting sendmail: [ OK ]
Starting sm-client: [ OK ]
Network Audio System Release 1.9.1
[ OK ]
Starting crond: [ OK ]
Enabling monthly Smolt checkin: [ OK ]
Starting xfs: [ OK ]
Starting atd: [ OK ]
Starting yum-updatesd: [ OK ]
Starting Avahi daemon... [ OK ]
Starting cups: [ OK ]
Starting HAL daemon: [ OK ]
Registering binary handler for Windows applications: [ OK ]
Starting anacron: [ OK ]
Starting smartd: [ OK ]
[Daniel@dhcppc2 ~]$
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 10 Soon dsio Linux 20 9th November, 2008 08:34 PM
Failed to send PorPorMe ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 9 19th August, 2008 03:14 PM
Fedora Strongwolf ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 5 18th December, 2007 10:38 PM
Failed 8KRA2+ kingc8 CRASHED! 7 31st March, 2006 05:31 PM
Boot failed!!! ziococco EPoX MotherBoards 7 30th June, 2003 01:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0