AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS > Linux

Linux Questions and information concerning Linux


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2009, 06:11 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Windows apps in UBUNTU

This is my last attempt at saving this Fujitsu HDD. I've got all there apps but they weren't any good w/o an OS. I have UBUNTU live loaded ( it won't install either)
What I need to know is how do I get these windows apps to run?
I've had a little play time with Linux but that was a while a go so I'm a newbie.
I've got the apps on a flash drive, mounted. Some Are .exe and some are .zip, and there is a .rar file just to make it interesting.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2009, 06:36 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

you need wine, if its a livecd you might not have that.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2009, 11:29 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio View Post
you need wine, if its a livecd you might not have that.
I've spent 6 or 7 hrs trying to kick some life into this thing-I hat telling a customer that I can't fix it-I know, my problem but I don't like it.
So he springs for a new HDD. Is there a compatibility issue between sata 1.5 and sata 3.o?
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2009, 12:43 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I think the 1.5 will work... just a little slower.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2009, 02:28 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

It's got a sata 1.5 in it now but there are a couple of 3.0 and 7200rpm for about the same price-I just didn't want a conflict of some sort.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2009, 04:51 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I should point out that all the windows apps will not "just work" If you're expecting that you might find yourself in a great deal of trouble.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2009, 07:47 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Heh...
I seem to remember some time ago that the WINE devs made a quote somewhere to the effect that "...don't complain to us that fancy Windows app xyz doesn't work in WINE. You are lucky, and it's amazing, that any app at all works in WINE, considering the nature of cross-platform implementation with Windows involved..."

I chuckled when I saw that. That is a good-natured bunch of crazies there.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2009, 08:15 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

On the flipside, certain things run better under WINE. The majority of kiddies games from the early to mid 1990s that were for Windows 3.1 / Win95 / Win98 that no longer function on Windows XP/Vista still work just fine under it.

Should add to that, I've just been playing Seirra Thexder, and its awesome!

Takes me back to when I was four years old on my 386.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles

Last edited by dsio; 14th February, 2009 at 08:16 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2009, 10:29 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Agian i didn't communicate my needs very well'
The only reason I wanted to know if I could run some windows apps was to try some diagnostics on the HDD.
But that wasn't the main question. Customer had decided that even if I found a way to repair this HDD, he wanted a new one. His is a 160Gb sata 1.5 5400rpm and I wanted to upgrade to a 300GB 7200rpm but I didn't know if there was any diffficulity wit the sata 3.0-different cables? anything like that.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2009, 03:25 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

A typical SATA cable should work on both drives. For diagnostics, just plug the old drive into a computer at home and run your Windows diagnostic programs to check its stability. windows will automaticlly mount the drive and assign it a drive letter.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ubuntu



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux Replacements for Your Favorite Windows Apps Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 11th April, 2008 07:53 PM
Uncovered: Evidence that Mac OS X could run Windows apps soon Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 3rd December, 2007 02:28 AM
Windows screwup forces Ubuntu shift danrok OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 14 8th January, 2007 07:46 PM
Windows equivalants for Ubuntu Staz OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 25th October, 2006 06:07 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0