AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS > Linux

Linux Questions and information concerning Linux


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #61 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2009, 07:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Try editing the line where it says /dev/sda1 to read /dev/hda1 and see if that gets something
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2009, 11:31 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

OK. I'll give that a try.":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2009, 11:46 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

It seems it's not quite what I thought, if you select the line we want and type "e" it gives a "Quite splash"> and a blinking cursor. I don't begin to know how to tell Linux to change one part of the line...":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2009, 11:49 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Given that your disk DOES boot Mint 7 (Old) and (Old) is fine until I update it...and new won't install properly...anymore... Maybe I should try a fresh install using old and see if the mint guys offer me the offending up date?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2009, 04:24 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

OK, new information. I Pulled one of my drives and hooked it up to Patti's Box and ran the NEW install, off Her IDE. No problems installing or booting however, when looking at updates,...I'm still offered the Mint System updates...???

I wanted to post this before trying them, as if they don't work....well I've gained nothing! ":O}
Attached Thumbnails
Help with Mint 7 updates-screenshot-mintupdate.png  
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 8th August, 2009 at 04:25 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2009, 04:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I haven't had any issues with any of the updates, I downloaded the ISO from mint the same day you did and installed it, just to be sure we working on the same platform.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2009, 05:19 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Good news and bad, good news and bad my friend! ":O}

Good news, safely updated while on Patti's machine and re booted fine. (On her IDE)

Put drive back in my machine and Error 2 returns...

So I took a closer look and the IDE pin on my MB that I could have swore was bent flat...well my eye aren't what they use to be,...but what is!":O}

I got it hooked up...had to find and turn on Marvel IDE, which is why I thought I had a bad pin to begin with...

I'm booted and update... but I can't use my PCI IDE cards and only have one IDE, So I guess I'll start over setting Mint up on IDE... Fedora 11 is still fine with my PCI/IDE and hopefully Mint will fix this.

As always...Many MANY thanks Cliff with out you at my back pushing I probably would have never gotten here..."LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2009, 05:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

What model PCI card do you have?

I don't know why grub cannot see the drive to initialize the boot in Mint but can in Fedora. Maybe two different versions of grub or possibly it has been modified by mint or ubuntu..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2009, 06:08 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

and remember, this is how I set up and used Mint from the begining! This only happened with the troublesome update...?

I'm using "Syba" Ultra ATA IDE Controller Card Has A Silicon Image Logo so I image
it's a Silicon Image card.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 8th August, 2009 at 06:17 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
19 yo girl's mint linux PC dsio Linux 4 9th September, 2009 08:47 PM
Getting Mint into Fedora condition! Daniel ~ Linux 56 16th May, 2009 05:07 PM
CSS Updates Toro GAMES! OH YEAH! 2 29th August, 2006 02:30 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0