AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS > Linux

Linux Questions and information concerning Linux


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2010, 11:52 AM
LP's Avatar
LP LP is offline
Member/Contributer/WCG TEAM CAPTAIN
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 987

Now Vista free

I am now running Linux Mint8 and Debian Lenny, with XP in Virtualbox. But I will miss my Yahoo Games.
__________________
Registered Linux User #401179
Desktop- Mint 10 Julia, Mint 9 Isadora, PCLOS LXDE 2010.10, Flavor of the Day

Laptop- Windows 7 Premium, AMD Athlon II X2 P340, 250g Seagate HD, ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4250, 4G DDR3 Ram, 15.6" HD LED LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2010, 02:04 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Well dear LP what do you really expect. With toothpaste name and Debi and Lenny? It is nothing short of a wonder that you can see pages like this one from inside those OS's or whatever they are. I am using Vista and W7 and I can play yahoo games and any other game I can think of (almost). So just give up on Fresh8 and join the "Dark" side of Vista. While youre at it say Asta la Vista baby looking at linucs distros !

<3
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2010, 02:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Maybe one day I will make my way back to using linux full time. I still have Gentoo installed on my main rig, but only boot into it for a few apps. My home server still runs Cent so I haven't completely got away from it. I spend 95% of my time in XP.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2010, 05:04 PM
LP's Avatar
LP LP is offline
Member/Contributer/WCG TEAM CAPTAIN
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 987

Lol. Chris I used Vista for the last year and a half. I had some issues with it locking up while throwing out the trash (I had to turn off indexing), and being a resource hog. Just the other day I was "in the red" on my hard drive space, and did a clean up and defragged, and then I had less space. I had to turn off System Restore, and turn it back on, then I had a spare 35gigs. Otherwise Vista has been ok. (except for a few crashes)
But I tried to re-install it (for the first time!) and it wouldn't accept my Key code. It's legit, I bought it from Nothing But Software a year and a half ago, and installed it once, but no... no more installs for you!
You must pay for a new license!
Umm.. no. Even XP will let me install a few times on the same pc.
So, MS gets no more of my money..
__________________
Registered Linux User #401179
Desktop- Mint 10 Julia, Mint 9 Isadora, PCLOS LXDE 2010.10, Flavor of the Day

Laptop- Windows 7 Premium, AMD Athlon II X2 P340, 250g Seagate HD, ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4250, 4G DDR3 Ram, 15.6" HD LED LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2010, 07:44 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccperf721p View Post
Maybe one day I will make my way back to using linux full time. I still have Gentoo installed on my main rig, but only boot into it for a few apps. My home server still runs Cent so I haven't completely got away from it. I spend 95% of my time in XP.
How can you sleep at night!! LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2010, 07:06 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by LP View Post
It's legit, I bought it from Nothing But Software a year and a half ago, and installed it once, but no... no more installs for you!
You must pay for a new license!

What version of Vista you got and were you using it on the same machine? IF so did have you tried calling MS? I don't think you should have a problem reinstalling it dear LP.
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!


Last edited by chrisbard; 7th April, 2010 at 07:06 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2010, 07:31 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Yeah that's it! Try calling MS...rotflmao ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 7th April, 2010 at 07:32 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2010, 08:48 PM
LP's Avatar
LP LP is offline
Member/Contributer/WCG TEAM CAPTAIN
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 987

Yeah, same machine, nothing changed. Vista Home Basic.
I'm not wasting my time or phone minutes calling MS.
I installed XP instead.

Maybe I will try installing Vista in Virtualbox and run it through Linux.
__________________
Registered Linux User #401179
Desktop- Mint 10 Julia, Mint 9 Isadora, PCLOS LXDE 2010.10, Flavor of the Day

Laptop- Windows 7 Premium, AMD Athlon II X2 P340, 250g Seagate HD, ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4250, 4G DDR3 Ram, 15.6" HD LED LCD

Last edited by LP; 7th April, 2010 at 08:49 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th April, 2010, 07:18 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Sounds like a cruel vengeance to me...go for it!! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th April, 2010, 11:05 PM
LP's Avatar
LP LP is offline
Member/Contributer/WCG TEAM CAPTAIN
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 987

I spent the day troubleshooting rom drives and installing Crunchbang.
I installed Mint 8 instead of Mint 8 64 because of FF quirkiness in 64.
Haven't had a chance to mess with Vista yet, but I will try that.
__________________
Registered Linux User #401179
Desktop- Mint 10 Julia, Mint 9 Isadora, PCLOS LXDE 2010.10, Flavor of the Day

Laptop- Windows 7 Premium, AMD Athlon II X2 P340, 250g Seagate HD, ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4250, 4G DDR3 Ram, 15.6" HD LED LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD-Free Office 2010, Partially-Functional Ad-Supported Free Edition Revealed Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 9th October, 2009 06:06 PM
Free utility condenses Windows Vista from 15GB to 1.4GB Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 5 3rd February, 2008 09:59 PM
Vista for free? raphael2040 Random Nonsense! 6 14th December, 2007 05:03 AM
Free remote desktop, works on most platforms,no need for kvm switch,free timbob2469 OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 31st May, 2003 08:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0