AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS > Linux

Linux Questions and information concerning Linux


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2012, 04:07 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman View Post
lets see if I can recall all the steps to successfully install video drivers.
Start by downloading the Nvidia rpm for your card. I recommend changing the name to just nvidia.rpm because you will be using a shell to install it.

1. sudo yum update
2. sudo yum install kernel
3. sudo yum install selinux-policy
4. restart
5. Ctrl+F2
6. login as root
7. init 3 (kills xserver)
8. navigate to your download
9. ./nvidia.rpm
10. follow directions
12. yes to something about writing the xorg.conf file
13. restart

I did NOT have to disable nouveau drivers, apparently the Nvidia did it for me.
now you should be able to see the Gnome3 interface and start installing games. This isn't always as simple as you would expect. Some games are: .sh .bin .rpm
Each one has to be installed a different way. The easiest ones were the .rpm because you could double-click the rpm file and Fedora installs it for you.
Some games requre audio drivers like: alsa
I had to use YUM and install the alsa drivers too.

I'm at step 4 going for the reboot...Will suspend do? After I hit suspend do I have to kill power?


[daniel@Fedora17 ~]$ sudo yum update

We trust you have received the usual lecture from the local System
Administrator. It usually boils down to these three things:

#1) Respect the privacy of others.
#2) Think before you type.
#3) With great power comes great responsibility.

[sudo] password for daniel:
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
No Packages marked for Update
[daniel@Fedora17 ~]$ sudo yum install kernel
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Nothing to do
[daniel@Fedora17 ~]$ sudo yum install selinux-policy
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Package selinux-policy-3.10.0-125.fc17.noarch already installed and latest version
Nothing to do
[daniel@Fedora17 ~]$
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2012, 04:11 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

What do I do with "Ctrl+F2" and where?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2012, 04:42 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

My problem is that I don't really like this desk top, I've been using it in Debin... just don't care for, I think I 'll give Mint Debin a shot at my Raid! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2012, 10:06 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

uninstall/
insert in the nice disk that says Windows7
install/
LIKE
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2012, 05:42 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Ok I get the un- install, but why, just when I have a nice clean drive would I want to...

(I just can't bring myself to say it...)
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2012, 11:03 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Well, I've upgraded the kids' system to F17, but I can't upgrade mine. Apparently I don't have enough free drive space.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2012, 04:04 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

How big is your drive? Just nosey I guess. ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2012, 05:08 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I'm sure Fedora will be very happy with your RAID. not that I would know...
I remember all of those steps because I did it 4 times in one form or another.
Sadly, I actually did some research and found 2 different tutorials and neither worked. They were very specific, but still didn't work.
I was getting frustrated because I had to re-install Fedora every time they didn't work because I don't know how to roll-back the changes I made.
I assumed that the specific changes would screw things up, so I would just re-install instead.
After 4 times... I tried the steps above and it worked! Also it was easier than the stinking tutorials.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2012, 12:32 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Once things settle down, I may give Fedora another chance. Have you seen Mint 13 Cinnamon Boo?

There is an installed app at the very top of the 'View all apps list. This app has but one purpose, to install non free drivers... This app is my best friend in Linux!

This app goes to Nvidia and tells them what kind of card I have, downloads at lest two and sometimes a 1/2 dozen nvidia drivers that work with my card, for me savor and then choose from at my royal leisure. If I don't like the first one I try... there's always another and never does it mess me about! And it recommends the one it likes best for my install!

I find Mint everywhere doing stuff like this, making it easier to use....I almost never have to go to terminal... I've just about forgot what little I knew... Until I started messing about with other distros...":O}
Attached Thumbnails
A Beefy Miracle: Fedora 17 arrives with GNOME 3.4 and GIMP 2.8-screenshot-2012-06-04-16-39  
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 5th June, 2012 at 12:40 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2012, 04:04 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
How big is your drive? Just nosey I guess. ":O}
I've got a 640 GB Samsung and a 250 GB Seagate, but this is my laptop, so they are 2.5" drives.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2012, 04:23 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Does the form factor make a difference between
PC and laptop performance?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2012, 05:40 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
Does the form factor make a difference between
PC and laptop performance?
Oh Yeah! If they are NOT Solid State....
Regular (spinning platter) drives have RPM limitations in the laptop hard drives. Usually they go 5400 rpms when 3.5in drives can go up to 10,000rpm.
As for Solid State? I have no idea. I'm sure there is more capacity in a larger drive.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2012, 05:43 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

oops forgot to reply to your Mint comments. I originally tried Mint, but had issues booting to the flash drive.
I may end up with Mint because my goal is to replace my Windows gaming machines with Linux and Mint has that "ease of use" with tools like the one you described.
So I'll have to try it, but at the same time... if it wasn't for Fedora and the Terminal, I wouldn't know Linux as well as I do. The Terminal forces you to learn the directories, switches and behind-the-scenes stuff that makes up Linux. Which is also helpful when you play with other distros.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2012, 09:01 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

To be honest...it was fun opening gedit again after a year off. I never knew much, usually needed someone to give me a step by step, I just don't have a head for code.

But I can do more stuff in Linux now than I ever could in ...you know, that non -free OS whose name may not be spoken.":O}

But there's little or nothing Mint can't do for me.

If I type "Yum" in terminal.

I get back a "yums not installed you can install yum by typing" :

apt-get install yum

Now that's the kind of hand holding I need! Not always so easy of course.... But the more Mint players I can get in the game...The more help I can rely upon! "L:O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 5th June, 2012 at 09:02 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2012, 09:09 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
I'm at step 4 going for the reboot...Will suspend do? After I hit suspend do I have to kill power?


[daniel@Fedora17 ~]$ sudo yum update

We trust you have received the usual lecture from the local System
Administrator. It usually boils down to these three things:

#1) Respect the privacy of others.
#2) Think before you type.
#3) With great power comes great responsibility.

[sudo] password for daniel:
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
No Packages marked for Update
[daniel@Fedora17 ~]$ sudo yum install kernel
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Nothing to do
[daniel@Fedora17 ~]$ sudo yum install selinux-policy
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Package selinux-policy-3.10.0-125.fc17.noarch already installed and latest version
Nothing to do
[daniel@Fedora17 ~]$
Dang, I can't believe I missed this post too... weird.

Suspend won't do... you need to do a full reboot. Totally off first, then back on.
I do it with this command:
Code:
sudo shutdown -r now
Also I made a "typo"
its supposed to be: Ctrl+Alt+F2
you can use F3, F4 or F5, they are all different shells.
when you say? you can Ctrl+Alt+F2 anytime you started Linux once you get to a login screen.
Now you can finish the steps.

Last, it looks like your updates included the kernel and selinux-policy.
If the nvidia driver doesn't work after the last reboot, then I would try to update them again.
From memory, that is how I did it.
I'm sure Gizmo knows a better way...
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2012, 11:18 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman View Post
Oh Yeah! If they are NOT Solid State....
Regular (spinning platter) drives have RPM limitations in the laptop hard drives. Usually they go 5400 rpms when 3.5in drives can go up to 10,000rpm.
As for Solid State? I have no idea. I'm sure there is more capacity in a larger drive.
From what I've seen consumer SSDs are all notebook form factor, they ship a bracket for those of us less mobile...
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2012, 11:23 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I 'had" to drop Fedora for debian mint, but now that I have Cinnmon on my fast drive, I can reinstall her...now seems a good time...":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2012, 01:50 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I'm going to try to be gentle. I know that the likes of Gizmo and yourself, Booman, must have pretty good reasons for using Fedora 17. I just installed her to one of my new SSD's determined to give her a fair try...But I just can't.

I'm used to mint...

Fedora is noticeably slower to load and to run than Cinnamon or MATE, Debain or Ubuntu versions...very noticeably...

Fedora, for me is obtuse and very hard to work with.. to have to leave what I'm doing to open another app, after a while, a very short while it just chaps my ass to HAVE to do all that flipping back and forth, cutting myself off from one task to open something that would aid me, like a password file..whatever...

Then there's the way I work with Thunderbird and Firefox, I click on a url in TB I expect to see TB and FF in a tool bar where I can switch back and forth between them with a click. Not have to looking for my browser...

I realize you all have a lot of time in on Fedora and that no doubt helps sooth your pain...":O}

But I really can't see why anyone would use Fedora rather than Cinnamon if they didn't have to... I'm just guessing but I suspect that an OS that sets up your graphics card....because it needs a good 3D card to really sparkle...is probably going to be more gamer friendly in the long run...

Dudes! Mint is SOOOO much better!! LOL

( OK we all know this to be almost entirely subjective, but I really want to hear what you guys think of this OS...)

Load it up for fun, stay for love.LOL

Here's the final straw. I load up Fedora do a bit settings config and then shut down to boot mint so I can think straight! LOL

But Fedora doesn't shut down now does she!? I turned off my power supply after Fedora "suspend" in the false hope that would do it. when I turn power back on she starts, then dies. I try the button again nothing. So turn off power tun it back on, without touching the button she comes up by her self and dies before reaching the boot screen.

so for the next five mins I fight for control of my computer, Fedora has told it to wake from suspend, but it's no longer in suspend is it!!?

How can I boot from multiple drives when Fedora to bleeping stupid to shut down normally when I need her to???

I love 'Suspend, use most always, but I hate not being able to restart or just shut down normally.. I really don't know what they were thinking!?

Ok my rage has past, it's safe to tell me how full of it I am...it was worth it to have this little talk...":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2012, 03:45 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
Does the form factor make a difference between
PC and laptop performance?
Well, yes and no.

2.5" drives are generally intended for laptop use, which means they are designed for power efficiency more than speed. One natural consequence of this is that they tend to be slower. However, this is a consequence of the intended environment, not an inherent limitation of the form factor.

In point of fact, the server industry is moving towards 2.5" drives for high-performance applications owing to the fact that you can generally get more storage in the same space using 2.5" drives than you can with 3.5" drives.

This seems rather counter-intuitive, until you understand that high-performance 3.5" drives (e.g. the 15000 RPM Seagate Barracuda and Cheetah drives) are not actually using 3.5" platters, but rather 2" or 2.5" platters in a 3.5" housing (they have to use smaller platters at those speeds to keep them from flying apart, or to minimize access times; usually some combination of both).

Since the high-performance drives are already using smaller platters, it makes more sense to use the smaller form-factor drives.

However, you aren't going to buy a high-performance server-class 2.5" drive for $100. Right now they are in the $600+ range. However, those server drives are built to deliver much higher performance and much higher reliability than your typical $100 laptop drive,

The fastest laptop drives I've seen are 10000 RPM, but they tend to be both pricey and hot for a laptop.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2012, 03:57 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
I'm going to try to be gentle...


Ok my rage has past, it's safe to tell me how full of it I am...it was worth it to have this little talk...":O}
There was a time when I wouldn't have had any reservations telling someone to use Fedora.

That time pretty much passed with the move to Gnome 3, and most of the community seems to be of a similar opinion. However, the Gnome folks are bound and determined that G3 is where things are going.

Basically, the problem is the reverse of a problem we used to have:

Way back many moons ago, operating systems were designed for computers with (relatively) large screens, and keyboards (and later, mice). Any notion of using these operating systems with a mobile device was an afterthought, and doing so required shoe-horning, patching, and otherwise beating into submission an OS that was never designed for the task it was being asked to perform.

Now, we've got the opposite: everything is moving towards mobile devices, so the OSen are being designed for devices with a small screen and a touch interface, but no keyboard. While the use of a desktop environment with a monitor, keyboard, and pointing device is at least considered, it's not the DRIVING development force.

So, where we once tried to force a desktop OS to work in a mobile environment, we are now trying to force a mobile OS to work in a desktop environment.

Even Ubuntu have fallen victim to this thinking, though they at least are moving in a different direction with their Unity interface (though I understand they are working with the Gnome folks to try to take the best of Unity and the best of Gnome 3 and combine them).

Hopefully, this will all pass fairly soon and everyone will come to their senses.

However, one of the GREAT things about the Linux world is that if you don't like the way distro A does something, you can try distro B. With Windows, all you can do is bitch and grit your teeth.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora , fedora 17 , linux



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
There's a new GNOME in town Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 7th June, 2012 09:51 PM
Fedora 16 and GNOME 3 booman Linux 8 1st April, 2012 02:10 AM
The GIMP Toro Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing. 33 1st September, 2004 10:30 PM
Gnome, KDE or? Allan OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 21 18th December, 2001 03:03 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0