AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2002, 07:26 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Active directory?????

How do I go about setting that up in XP??I'm clueless. I need an answer asap.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2002, 06:09 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Hmmm... haven't needed to yet

It's an administrative tool, imagine you're running XP in classic style, I know it's available through control panel and/or accessories, system tools... it's there, I know that much, but I'm at work on w2k, and I couldn't even tell you here since the machine is administratively locked down (from people like me ).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2002, 06:11 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky
Hmmm... haven't needed to yet

It's an administrative tool, imagine you're running XP in classic style, I know it's available through control panel and/or accessories, system tools... it's there, I know that much, but I'm at work on w2k, and I couldn't even tell you here since the machine is administratively locked down (from people like me ).
try doing a search for "Microsoft management console" in help
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2002, 01:02 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Re: Active directory?????

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman
How do I go about setting that up in XP??I'm clueless. I need an answer asap.
If you still need answers, head towards the Windows 2000 Step-by-Step Guides . Yes, I know it's for Windows 2000, not XP, but it covers the stuff you need to know about AD. Given how important AD is to the way the infrastructure grows, it's necessary to plan it out first, before implementing an AD.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2002, 02:51 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

yeah, i know about mmc, and i've dorked around with 2k a bit, but maybe I'm just blind because I couldn't find it in mmc in xp...I have a couple good admin books for 2k but still couldn't figure it out..maybe I'm just blind..
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2002, 10:17 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

You've probably been using MMC without even realising it, given it seems to be MS's preferred administrative method now.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2002, 09:38 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

well, I was using mmc, but I didn't see a thing that said active directory anywhere...
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2002, 09:40 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

That all depends on what DLLs MMC was using at the time you were using it. MMC on it's own is just a framework - it can't do anything useful. Various adminstrative DLLs are written with the idea that they'll plug into MMC, and provide a level of usefulnes for MMC (Not that I'm calling MMC useful). The DLLs are loaded depending on what MMC session file was opened. If no session file was loaded, then MMC will come up, but be completely useless until you get it to load a DLL that'll allow you to administer something.

So, to set anything up, you'd need to know which DLLs to load, if you don't already have an MMC session. Most of the MS tools are just MMC sessions that have been set up.

I'm not 100% convinced that AD uses MMC though.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PFC = Active?? SteveI AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 7th February, 2004 12:25 AM
disable apache directory listing r0l0e Data Security 2 20th April, 2003 03:07 AM
Second most active topic! Allan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 7 30th May, 2002 07:58 AM
Won't be quite as active... Pinky ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 8 21st November, 2001 05:43 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0