AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2005, 06:17 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

1394 Network Device

my friend has been having some troble with his internet connection and when he went into his device manager he found this. he tried to uninstall it but when he rebooted it just came back. the thing is, is that he doesnt have a firewire card and i believe that 1394 = firewire. how could this be?

EDIT: oops.... forgot the link to the mobo
http://usa.asus.com/products/mb/sock...0/overview.htm
__________________

Last edited by WonderBread; 4th February, 2005 at 06:27 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2005, 07:03 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

The south bridge on the nForce2 chipsets implements an IEEE-1394 Firewire controller. Although Asus appears not to have hooked it up on this particular mobo, it is still there. The only thing you can do is possibly go into the BIOS and disable it.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone else have sony_ssm.sys in Device Manager? glObalist OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 3rd October, 2006 11:26 PM
External 1394 HDD to a HD set with 1394 out, can it work? videobruce General Hardware Discussion 1 22nd October, 2005 06:02 PM
8rda3+ firewire 1394 piloteer81 EPoX MotherBoards 1 5th June, 2004 11:26 PM
(8RDA3+ Rev 1.1) I can't Disable The OnBoard LAN and IEEE 1394 Device Botpck9 EPoX MotherBoards 13 7th June, 2003 12:56 PM
Mysterious Device? letsplayball EPoX MotherBoards 16 2nd April, 2003 07:05 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0