AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2005, 03:03 AM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

Network Hub Mod

I'm tempted to mod my hub. i'm just not sure how to mod, i could do it the traditional case mod style, paint job, perhaps a window, glow tubes, a fan or two. ooorrr do it the wild and crazy trek fanatic way. which might mean i break my hub.

Quite a while ago, some guys from MIT took a teddy bear and merged it with a hub, unfortunately they shut their website down but thanks to Google's Chache we can see it still.

http://64.233.167.104/search?q=cache...dyborg/+&hl=en

http://64.233.167.104/search?q=cache...borg/%22&hl=en

http://64.233.167.104/search?q=cache...g2.html+&hl=en

http://64.233.167.104/search?q=cache...+borg%22&hl=en

http://64.233.167.104/search?q=cache...+borg%22&hl=en

so what do you guys think? btw i suggest we get a mod section for things that aren't cases. I'm also attaching scans of my hub so you can see it.
Attached Thumbnails
Network Hub Mod-inside.jpg   Network Hub Mod-front.jpg  
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2005, 03:59 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

I vote you add some funky cathode lights and paint those chips with UV reacant paint, then add a window.
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2005, 12:12 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Oh wow - that's an old design! I haven't seen anything with 10Base2 or AUI on it for many many years now.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2005, 01:16 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

That bear is really cool.

Now im temped to do something stupid like that.

Now when girls walk into gamer/nerds house's and they see a modem beside the phone they instantly bail. What if, we put the modem inside a bear?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2005, 05:41 PM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

let's just put everything in a bear! get a big enough stuffed animal and we can stuff it with the monitor, or put the tower into a stuffed something like these guys did to ET, http://mini-itx.com/projects/etpc/
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2005, 06:58 PM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

i've just been giving the hub a second layer of paint, and i thought, where would i get the power to power the lights? i think some how i'd be able to tap into the hub's natural power but i have no idea where i'd have to solder stuff to. mind you i'll have to find small enough light tubes, and aquire a soldering gun. for now, a paint job will suffice, then when i go home for the christmas break, i'll be able to borrow my old high school's power tools to cut a window. not sure whether to do a plain rectangle window, or something to match my tower.
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2005, 10:43 PM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

i've just given it one coat of primer, and two coats of paint. i'm gonna do the main display section the same red as the top. but i'm gonna leave the ports plain and let the lights still be able to be seen. sorry for the crappyness of my pic. i don't own a digital camera so i just used my scanner.
Attached Thumbnails
Network Hub Mod-post-paint.jpg  
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 04:37 AM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

Posting another scan, this time of the inside of the lid, i've marked a black rectangle wher i'm going to cut, i've done pilot holes in the corners, i've even tried my hand at a little engraving in the middle of the scrap. yay!
Attached Thumbnails
Network Hub Mod-cutting.jpg  
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 06:51 AM
fantomfreq's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: Fort Stewart, GA
Posts: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to fantomfreq

You, sir, are the man.

You're the first person I've ever seen do any sort of visual modding to a network appliance and you're also the first person I've seen take 'photographs' with a scanner. Bravo.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 03:07 PM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

I do what i can with i what i got.
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 09:42 PM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

you mean others have modded a network appliance other than a visual type mod? how would one go about doing that?
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 10:20 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Hey dude!

Gotta say I am loving (seriously) the like chipped paint on the front of that

I always think that things like that look awesome, like that HL2 modded machine from a little while ago.
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 10:27 PM
fantomfreq's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: Fort Stewart, GA
Posts: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to fantomfreq

Quote:
Originally Posted by captaincurran
you mean others have modded a network appliance other than a visual type mod? how would one go about doing that?
Well, for one example, the Linksys WRT54G is very extensible. It's the largest selling embedded linux device in the world and plenty of people have made custom firmware for it. With custom firmware, you can give it many features that it doesn't normally have like using it as a NAT device.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 10:30 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Just a suggestion, but how about some rust and bullet holes. Some kind of industrial look.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 10:34 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Pitch you're on my wave length ! Stuff like that always looks funky
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2005, 10:45 PM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

i've actually fixed up the front, the "chipped paint" was merely paint that slipped under the tape, i've since then painted the front panel red. i'll be making some stencils in a Klingon font, so i can relabel the network ports. then i shall be putting an AOA Case badge on it

if some of you know of a location online that i can get a "map" of the electrical systems on the hardware so i will know where to solder the power wires of what ever lighting system i decide to use will be greatly appreciated.

Oh, and here's a ScanPic of my first fully cut side.
Attached Thumbnails
Network Hub Mod-first-cut.jpg   Network Hub Mod-front.jpg  
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 9th December, 2005, 08:35 PM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

Due to a recent 24hour quiet rule at the dorms, due to exams i am unable to continue my cutting till i get to my mom's next weekend. So no new progress till next saturday. If you guys have any suggestions as to how i should light the system, please give me a shout.
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2005, 06:41 AM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

well, since i have very limited knowledge at electrical systems on different things, i was wondering if you guys could analyse these scans of the interior hardware, and suggest where i would solder my lighting into it.
Attached Thumbnails
Network Hub Mod-bottom.jpg   Network Hub Mod-top.jpg  
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2005, 01:24 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

The most natural place would be to come right off the power connector. However, there are a couple things you have to consider: the voltage required by the lights, and the current draw.

Odds are that whatever brick is used to power that hub, even if it happens to be the right voltage, is working at or near capacity now. Adding the additional draw of lights could very well exceed its capabilities.

So, first things first. The power brick should be labeled according to its output voltage and current ratings. What are they?

Second, what voltage do the lights require, and what is their rated current draw?

Also, does the hub indicate on its label what its voltage and current ratings are?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2005, 01:42 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Get your air rifle and some 0.8mm steel and shoot the hell out of it.
Flat head .22 make good realistic holes.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network Help QSDT Mobile Devices and Networking 0 31st August, 2006 10:57 PM
Network Names SiGmA_X Mobile Devices and Networking 35 24th August, 2003 06:28 PM
XP can't see network mykeowl Mobile Devices and Networking 3 3rd February, 2003 12:53 AM
network kat Mobile Devices and Networking 17 26th October, 2001 09:10 PM
yea network is up kat ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 8 24th October, 2001 01:36 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0