AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2007, 02:45 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Probable PC issue

4 devices. My laptop. Customers modem/router (which is a iConnect 610). Customers PC. My networking switch.

My laptop will get an IP address through DHCP regardless if its plugged into customer DSL modem or into my switch.

Customers PC will get an IP of 169.254.70.85 and a subnet mask of 255.255.0.0, with no default gateway or anything else and 'limited or no connectivity'

However, if I manaually assign an IP address (gateway, subnet and DNS server) which I know works on the switch, I get full connectivity. But cannot ping out or access any local sources.

Any thoughts on the situation?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2007, 02:47 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Nevermind, just noticed McAfee was installed.

Disabled the firewall and lo-and-behold. It automatically assigns an IP address.

Sorry folks.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2007, 05:42 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Dontcha just love tools that are smarter than you are? LOL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2007, 06:52 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Necessary evil I believe ;-)
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2007, 10:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Norton and McAfee should be consigned to the scrapheap. Every time a friend complains to me about problems with their laptop and connections, I'd say these two account for well over half of the blame. Uusually I uninstall (9 times out of ten their running a program whos subscription ended months ago and therefore offers no real protection) these horrible programs and setup AVG/Windows Firewall.

I've never had a problem just running Windows Firewall, AVG and Spybot.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]



Last edited by aghastpumpkin; 18th October, 2007 at 10:18 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2007, 11:21 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

I agree wholheartedly with aghast

Network + (symantic or mcaffee) =

Especially when they are out of date
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H

Last edited by noob; 18th October, 2007 at 11:22 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HIS X1900XT tv out issue Gman15 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 9th October, 2006 07:50 AM
possible sound issue HauZDauG Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 7 12th April, 2005 01:55 AM
Plug up your nose, a probable dive into Pelt cooling! XeroHouR Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 19 5th August, 2004 12:06 AM
2600 / 333 OC Issue Difranco EPoX MotherBoards 1 20th January, 2003 09:45 PM
Format issue Kris Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 11 3rd November, 2001 04:01 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0