AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2010, 10:45 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Access Point

Is it possible to take an old wireless router and turn it into an access point that receives the wireless signal and then plug in an Ethernet cable for a non wireless device?

I have no clue if this is possible. I'm trying to get a connection to a wired device on the other side of my house without having to purchase a 100ft cable and run it through my attic if at all possible.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2010, 11:30 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

If it has an ethernet connector, then that's what it effectively is now. A wireless router is basically just an AP with a router built in.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2010, 12:06 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

so, then I should be able to successfully configure the old router to receive a wireless signal instead of broadcasting one?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2010, 03:28 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

You SHOULD be able to, yes, but it largely depends on the configuration options of the firmware.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2010, 12:15 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

What's the device in question?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2010, 04:27 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Netgear WGR614 V6
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2010, 05:11 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

let us know if you figure it out. You should be able to configure the router to act as a simple wireless switch. Then connect your downstairs to it with your RJ45 or wireless in your laptop.
Is that what you mean?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2010, 11:37 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Just to check my understanding - You want to use the WGR614v6 as a wireless client, so you can connect a device that doesn't have wireless capabilities of it's own to a wireless network.

From looking at the WGR614v6 manual, it doesn't appear to support putting the wireless part in client mode, only in access point mode. That rather prevents you from using the WGR614v6 as a wireless client unfortunately.

I also took a look at other versions of software (like WRT), but it seems that the WGR614v6 doesn't have sufficient internal memory - fixing that means replacing chips on the board alas.

All that would tend to suggest you're not going to have any luck getting the WGR614v6 to do what you want it to do.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2010, 01:48 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

that really sucks. Guess you'll have to run 50 feet of cable through the floor.
I'm surprised that a router can't connect to a computer and act as an access point. You would think this is regular practice for routers. Cause everyone has an extra wireless router.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2010, 08:11 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Ah...Shucks. Oh well.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ZyXEL NXC-8160 Access Point reviewed danrok Mobile Devices and Networking 0 4th February, 2008 05:42 PM
Making a Wi-Fi access point with a PCI card? benighted General Hardware Discussion 16 24th March, 2006 11:21 AM
Wireless access point sugguestion BigRed Mobile Devices and Networking 32 28th April, 2005 06:18 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0