AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd September, 2012, 02:33 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

How does PAYG data billing work?

Does anyone know what kind of methods are used by operators to calculate prepaid data charges?

Is it normal to round-up to the nearest MB?

How does this work?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2012, 11:08 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Depends on the operator - you'd have to ask them. Generally when it comes to the charging, it's done on MB blocks, rather than pro-rata, but not always. Some charge pro-rata based rounding up the kb figure.

When the operator rounds up, it'll depend. They can round up per session, or they can round up per billing period.
__________________

Last edited by Aedan; 24th September, 2012 at 11:14 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2012, 03:59 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

How would they define a session?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2012, 05:58 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Probably based around the PDP context - in other words, based on when the phone requested a data channel to the point it was closed. Closing it would be either out of signal, handover to non data enabled cell or phone requested (reboot, switch to WiFi [phone dependant], gone flat)

Again, you'd have to ask the operator to be sure.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2012, 06:51 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

OK thanks!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone got A-Data PC3200 ram? Soul99 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 12th August, 2003 04:00 PM
Can I have my data back please? Kaitain Random Nonsense! 2 28th January, 2003 04:49 AM
DATA Recovery Program The Spyder CRASHED! 5 22nd January, 2003 11:23 AM
transferring data resolnaisa General Hardware Discussion 5 30th August, 2002 12:02 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0