AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2002, 09:20 PM
Thundr7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York The Empire State
Posts: 165
Send a message via AIM to Thundr7 Send a message via Yahoo to Thundr7

Question Trying to connect 2 pc's

I'm trying to get 2 rigs to connect to the internet without a hub or router. This is what i have:

PC # 1- 2 nic cards
PC# 2- One nic card
All 3 cards are working
I have win98se. I've tried internet connection sharing but it won't work. Can anyone tell me what else i can use? I've been at this for 4 hours already (the hell has started)

I'm not happy using 98se, but i have no other choice.

Any help is greatly appreciated


**** Nevrmind, i'm not gonna bust my head again****
__________________
Xpect the Un-xpected
******************************
------------------------------------------------
If a woman laughs at you after sex, what does it mean? It means you forgot protection and now she has a slave.

Last edited by Thundr7; 28th June, 2002 at 09:32 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2002, 09:38 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

You're having lots of fun then! Take troubleshooting back down to the basics and forget about the internet! See if you can get the two machines to talk to each other.

Have you an IM? PM me if you have.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2002, 09:38 PM
Saberdyne's Avatar
New Member/OES
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14
Send a message via ICQ to Saberdyne Send a message via AIM to Saberdyne

Re: Trying to connect 2 pc's

Quote:
Originally posted by Thundr7
I'm trying to get 2 rigs to connect to the internet without a hub or router. This is what i have:

PC # 1- 2 nic cards
PC# 2- One nic card
All 3 cards are working
I have win98se. I've tried internet connection sharing but it won't work. Can anyone tell me what else i can use? I've been at this for 4 hours already (the hell has started)

I'm not happy using 98se, but i have no other choice.

Any help is greatly appreciated


**** Nevrmind, i'm not gonna bust my head again****

Try making a crossover cable. there are many tutorials available....as long as you have to tools. Also your local computer shop should carry them too...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2002, 02:26 AM
drow_elf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 721
Send a message via ICQ to drow_elf Send a message via AIM to drow_elf

actually look in your local home improvent store- cheaper (they really carry it too)
it should be pretty simple except for the ICS part... if you just need HTTP/POP/SNMP then try out AnalogX's proxy! (i think it works in 98)
make a crossover (unless youre using a hub)
install TCP/IP, NETBEUI(only because it makes file sharing work), client for MS networks, file sharing
install the proxy on the gateway machine
config the client machine to use the gateway
__________________
"Pointillists shouldn't use Scantrons" -me
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2002, 02:58 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

crossover cables just have the green and orange pairs swithced at one end
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2002, 10:51 AM
Thundr7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York The Empire State
Posts: 165
Send a message via AIM to Thundr7 Send a message via Yahoo to Thundr7

Ok i have the cables and i'm gonna check that AnologX Proxy.

Thanx guyz

Thanx Drow_elf
__________________
Xpect the Un-xpected
******************************
------------------------------------------------
If a woman laughs at you after sex, what does it mean? It means you forgot protection and now she has a slave.

Last edited by Thundr7; 29th June, 2002 at 10:57 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2002, 04:08 AM
drow_elf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 721
Send a message via ICQ to drow_elf Send a message via AIM to drow_elf

cable is suprisingly easy to make too! except when the crimper screws up cuz then you gotta start all over! (had to do it 3x once- wouldnt crimp one of the "blades" far enough)
hey could you shield UTP using foil duct-tape? and go like 150m or farther?
__________________
"Pointillists shouldn't use Scantrons" -me
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2002, 03:18 PM
Saberdyne's Avatar
New Member/OES
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14
Send a message via ICQ to Saberdyne Send a message via AIM to Saberdyne

Quote:
Originally posted by drow_elf
cable is suprisingly easy to make too! except when the crimper screws up cuz then you gotta start all over! (had to do it 3x once- wouldnt crimp one of the "blades" far enough)
hey could you shield UTP using foil duct-tape? and go like 150m or farther?
I don' think so. I don't think that the shielding has anything to do with the length of your run. I think the limitation is based on the signal degradation throught the wires. (you know as wire distance increases so does the resistance. ) Even with STP the max run is still 100 M. But I will check and let you know what I find out.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2002, 09:32 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I made him the cable and sold him the two NICs spyder had sold me a while back. You have the goods, but you're probably running into some windows 98 tastiness

If you think this is busting your head, stay away from Active Directory (I do ).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2002, 09:35 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by Saberdyne


I don' think so. I don't think that the shielding has anything to do with the length of your run. I think the limitation is based on the signal degradation throught the wires. (you know as wire distance increases so does the resistance. ) Even with STP the max run is still 100 M. But I will check and let you know what I find out.
it's actually both the degredation of the signal and some signal bleeding. I know someone who was having serious issues dropping packets in his home network until he uncoiled the 100ft mound-o-cat5

excess length of wiring naturally messes any type of electronics up
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extreme Pc's jonbhoy Reader's Retailer Ratings & Commentaries 7 28th December, 2004 08:44 AM
Post your PC's specs Marcus Bertolli General Hardware Discussion 4 11th July, 2004 06:49 PM
2 pc's - only one keyboard dod Mobile Devices and Networking 15 24th December, 2002 02:35 PM
I want one of these PC's, u can eat it daMANwithANSWER Random Nonsense! 2 16th November, 2002 06:45 PM
2 PC's, 1 PSU? Spode Hardware Hacking 7 24th September, 2002 10:32 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0