AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2002, 05:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 500

Does anyone here have a wireless network in their home???

Just wanted to know how the performance of a wireless network is when the PCs are scattered all around a house?? How effectively does the signal penetrate walls etc. And how will the performance be affected when the wireless router is on the first floor and the PCs the need the connection are in the 2nd floor of the home.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2002, 06:46 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Yeah, I've an 802.11b wireless network in my apartment. Some of the interior walls are solid brick, and the signal doesn't go through those walls at all! The result is that the room next to the access point has poor connectivity.

The signal doesn't go through the floors in the building where I am, as the floors are concrete.

What are your interior walls made of, and what are the floors made of?

It's preferable to have the access point higher up than lower down, as the RF propogates more effectively.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2002, 08:02 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I was going to do this but the cost was going to be WAY too high. So I drilled some holes and ran cat5 from one side of the house to the other, via the attic.

Almost used all 100 feet of cable.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2002, 11:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 500

Thanks guys

So Aidan,

You're saying that its better to have the wireless router on the 2nd flr than on the 1st flr???
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2002, 11:46 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by JayJay
You're saying that its better to have the wireless router on the 2nd flr than on the 1st flr???
With anything RF, the futher up it is, the better the coverage! This isn't always possible, but if you can do it, it's preferable.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2002, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 500

Quote:
Originally posted by AidanII


With anything RF, the futher up it is, the better the coverage! This isn't always possible, but if you can do it, it's preferable.

AidanII
You're right! Forgot about that

Thanks AidanII
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2002, 04:07 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

We have some cheap blootooth USB dongles here.
Only cost £25 each so you can make yourself a cheap wireless network with them.

Speed and range isnt fantastic (ADSL speed and about 10m range) but for the money it might suite some people.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2002, 04:17 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Holst
Speed and range isnt fantastic (ADSL speed and about 10m range) but for the money it might suite some people.
Bluetooth can manage about 730Kbit/sec, which isn't really very fast.

The range is a little more of a problem, depending on the device. Mobile phones and headsets generally use the lowest power setting, which gives about 10metres of range. Larger devices such as USB modules have far more power and can go for 200metres.

I have to say, I'd not seen any at the suggested £25 mark, or I'd have some!

Hey, are those EPoX USB Bluetooth dongles Broadcom based?

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless network Toro General Hardware Discussion 8 23rd January, 2005 10:36 PM
My wireless network...DONE! Logan Mobile Devices and Networking 3 9th January, 2005 11:53 PM
wireless network/dial up BMan Mobile Devices and Networking 3 3rd September, 2003 07:00 AM
Linux + Wireless Network SiGmA_X OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 31 28th July, 2003 08:55 AM
Need wireless network help TranceBear Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 28th September, 2001 01:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0