AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2003, 07:19 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Linux routing question

Ok, I want to be able to route internet access to my home network through two modems in one machine. I live in the country and a 24k connection is about all I can get out here, due to the phone companies switchbox(it dates from the second world war era). Is there a proggy for Linux that will utilize both modems as a single data pipe? Or perhaps just use one to send and one to receive? I'm looking at running Red Hat 8, as downloading a newer distro is essentially out of the question on my connect. ANy help or ideas would be appreciated.

Dol
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2003, 07:54 PM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Both windows and linux will allow you to have 2 concurrent internet connections. BUT you won't get a single data pipe. The computer that does the load-balancing between two connections will route a particular request down one OR the other internet connection. Although it refers to broadband, this thread is just as valid for modem connections.
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2003, 08:52 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Sorry Kaitain!

Depending on the router equipment used to answer the calls at your ISP, you might be in luck. Some ISPs charge extra for these extra connections. You'll have to talk to them to find out.

There is a mechanism that allows multiple PPP connections to be identified as a single connection over multiple channels. It's better known as Multilink PPP. You'll obviously need some software on your PC. If you have Windows, then you probably already have it. If you have Linux, then you'll have to find/download it, if it's not part of your distribution.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


« why?? | mscoree.dll »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-routing power-on buttons raphael2040 The Chop Shop 16 18th February, 2007 09:27 PM
Linux warp1 ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 3 16th December, 2003 11:17 AM
8K5A2+ RAID 0 Question(no Problems, just a question) ronin1967 EPoX MotherBoards 5 3rd November, 2002 05:56 PM
Linux for mum? dimmreaper OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 19 3rd October, 2002 12:01 AM
So... Linux you say..... The Spyder OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 17 7th September, 2002 07:45 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0