AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2003, 06:11 AM
turbo dan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 442
Send a message via AIM to turbo dan Send a message via Yahoo to turbo dan

Can't run windows update

I've been working on a friends computer to clear up some issues on it and do some updates. I got rid of a virus, all the spyware and then ran windows update. Everything was going fine until I went back to get a couple of driver updates. The windows update page starts but it won't go to the scan part. It shows a warning about active x securities possibly being set too high then shows a page that says 'software update incomplete'.
It's an hp pavilion with XP Home on it and everything else is running good on it. In fact it's been sitting here folding since Friday. (2Ghz Celeron)

I've been all over the ms "knowledge base" and tried as many fixes as I could find.
So now I'm just looking for anybody's WAGuess to try.
__________________
bit by folding bug Feb. 2002

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2003, 06:39 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Have tried lowering the security?!?!? Just a shot in the dark.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2003, 01:10 PM
turbo dan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 442
Send a message via AIM to turbo dan Send a message via Yahoo to turbo dan

Yeah I tried that. At the default level and lower but it's still the same. thanks though!
__________________
bit by folding bug Feb. 2002

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2003, 02:26 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Hey, anything to keep you from getting another box folding so I'll NEVER pass you!!! hahahaha J/k!!!

I'm sure someone knows the answer!!
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2003, 06:21 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

You've probably seen this already but just in case

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=319585
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2003, 08:41 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by dod
You've probably seen this already but just in case

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=319585
That's a right handy reference, thanks dod!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2003, 01:41 AM
turbo dan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 442
Send a message via AIM to turbo dan Send a message via Yahoo to turbo dan

robbie-
I had that box folding for me for a while now but it got so bogged down that my friend wouldn't hardly even turn it on. He got the blaster worm also so he didn't go online for quite a few weeks either. Hopefully now he'll use it more. It puts out some decent WU's.

dod-
I tried that one first. It was going fine until about step 7 of 'removing windows update active x controls'. It never did ask for the xp installation disk nor would it update off of the website. The error I got after doing these steps was an adminitrator error. Then it on to a different set of things to try. It's strange because I had already run all of the critical updates and such from windows.
__________________
bit by folding bug Feb. 2002

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2003, 04:27 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Hey Turbo Dan

Was it the "PE-BUGBEAR.DAM" virus. My wife just got that on her computer and I am also having the same problem. I also cannot run defrag or scan disk, it says out of memory but system info says that I am using 31% and 69% free. Also when I look in virtual memory it says that I have negitive free hard drive space.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2003, 05:19 AM
turbo dan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 442
Send a message via AIM to turbo dan Send a message via Yahoo to turbo dan

He had two actually, the blaster virus and W32.Welchia.worm. I had to get rid of the blaster manually because the removal tool didn't detect it. The welchia worm was taken care of by a symantec removal tool.

I got rid of the virus' before running the first batch of updates which ran fine. I think the problem showed up when I got rid of all the spyware he had accumulated. I use Spybot on mine and never had a problem though so I don't know.

I'm debating whether or not to use the HP system restore and starting all over.



Negative hard drive space? Now that's gotta be screwin' stuff up.
__________________
bit by folding bug Feb. 2002

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2003, 02:16 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

This article seems to go a bit further than the ms one.

http://www.updatexp.com/0x800A138F.html
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2003, 01:33 PM
turbo dan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 442
Send a message via AIM to turbo dan Send a message via Yahoo to turbo dan

Thanks dod,
That page actually had a link referring to the exact error I was getting.
http://www.updatexp.com/0x800B0004.html
Next time I work on his computer I'll give it a try.

Thanks again.
Dan
__________________
bit by folding bug Feb. 2002

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Security Update!! z3speed4me OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 4th January, 2006 06:24 PM
Windows update package? MONKEYMAN OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 6th October, 2005 01:27 PM
Windows update ajopz OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 74 14th August, 2005 07:46 PM
New Windows update interface! Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 19 12th August, 2005 01:53 AM
Windows Update Spode OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 6 30th March, 2002 10:11 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0