AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2004, 02:28 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Geforce2 TV Out on Gentoo

Has anyone sucessfully got Geforce2 TVOut working under Linux? I can get a picture up on the TV either with the TV as output, or with TwinView for both TV and Monitor.

However, the colours on the TV are odd, as for some reason the Red and Blue are swapped. Running in TwinView mode, the monitor shows the correct colours, but the TV remains with R and B swapped.

I'm out of ideas right now, and have no idea why this is occuring- any suggestions are welcomed.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2004, 03:05 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Sorry big guy, but this might be a similar problem?

Active desktop F-ing up
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2004, 11:00 AM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
Has anyone sucessfully got Geforce2 TVOut working under Linux? I can get a picture up on the TV either with the TV as output, or with TwinView for both TV and Monitor.

However, the colours on the TV are odd, as for some reason the Red and Blue are swapped. Running in TwinView mode, the monitor shows the correct colours, but the TV remains with R and B swapped.

I'm out of ideas right now, and have no idea why this is occuring- any suggestions are welcomed.
I had TV out working for a GeForce4 - there were big warnings printed on the howto I was reading about conflicts with one or other monitor head (the GF4 I have is dual-headed).

Most important: what version of nvidia drivers are you using? Latest are the 5336 build.

I'm sure you don't need reminding that the GF outputs S-Video, which can be converted to composite or SCART, but that if composite is used, the TV must support it explicitly (it's not the same as RF). You also have to be very explicit in your XF86Config file about which variant of PAL encoding you wish to use, otherwise it'll default to PAL-B. In the UK it's typically PAL-I.
[code] Option "TVStandard" "PAL-I"[/i] I'd imagine you've done that already
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2004, 01:18 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Yup, set PAL-I and using SVideo. If the card were encoding to Composite, and the TV looking for SVideo, I'd just get a B&W picture, rather than one with Red and Blue swapped.

SCART is just a connector BTW, not a video standard. As such, SCART supports RGB, SVideo and Composite (and widescreen switching!).

I'll double check which version of the drivers - I just did a gentoo emerge for them about a week ago.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2004, 01:20 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~
Sorry big guy, but this might be a similar problem?
Nope, not even close The problem is simply that everything works correctly, EXCEPT that on the TV anything that's red comes out as blue, and anything that's blue comes out as red. Rather makes people's faces a bit cold.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2004, 05:21 PM
prat's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Rice University!
Posts: 218
Send a message via AIM to prat Send a message via Yahoo to prat

Are you telling it what monitors are connected? I seem to remember something about the autodetection being a bit strange. You might try:
Code:
Section "Device"
   #Dump the following in your card's device section:
   Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV, CRT" # Or just TV, or "CRT, TV", depending                                                                                        
....
Also, I know it's already been mentioned, but as far as the composite/svideo thing goes, you can force that using Option "TVOutFormat" ("SVIDEO"/"COMPOSITE").

Good luck!
__________________
AOA Team fah
Athlon XP 1900+ @ stock, 512MB DDR RAM, ASUS A7S333 MB running Gentoo

Last edited by prat; 15th February, 2004 at 06:05 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2004, 05:57 PM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
SCART is just a connector BTW, not a video standard. As such, SCART supports RGB, SVideo and Composite (and widescreen switching!).
I'm aware of that, but not all SCART devices are created equal. My old TV (inexplicably) swapped the signal and ground pins for each colour channel, so using a "standard" cable resulted in a very weird picture.
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2004, 07:32 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I think I might just give up on the GF2 MX card. Only the GF4 cards seem to support overscan, which would be very useful for my application. Guess I'm gonna go out and get a cheap GF4/FX card of some description, unless anyone's got any better ideas.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gentoo



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB Flash Drive under Gentoo Gizmo OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 5 6th July, 2005 10:16 AM
Gentoo installation issue... Áedán OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 5 9th December, 2004 11:14 PM
How can i overclock my GeForce2? Biohazard Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 8th October, 2002 08:51 PM
How can i overclock my GeForce2? Biohazard General Hardware Discussion 4 4th October, 2002 01:47 AM
GeForce2 MX400 AmbientFiction Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 35 30th September, 2001 10:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0