AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 29th November, 2004, 07:00 PM
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion

Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Help with Linux

Ok, I'm basically a Linux noob. I can make my way around the command line and do basic stuff (our proxy/firewall runs on Redhat, and I set up all of the rules used by iptables), but when it comes to compiling apps or doing anything that doesn't fit into the preconfigured scenarios, I'm pretty much out in the cold.

I've got a project that I'm getting ready to work on (it's open source) that requires me to build some code, which means I'll have to compile code under Linux.

The best way to learn this stuff is to dive right in, so that's what I'm gonna do.

I've got a box that I've dedicated for this project; it has an HP mobo that is based on the Asus P3C-D (dual PIII at 700 MHz). The only difference between the HP mobo and the regular Asus mobo is some tweaks in the bios and the addition of a thermal hardware monitor; other than that, it is the Asus board. I am using a plain 4 GB IDE drive and a CD-ROM. I've got 256 MB of Rambus memory. I've got on-board sound, a PCI S3 Virge video card, and a D-Link DWL-520 wireless NIC. All the hardware works flawlessly under WindowsXP using the stock Windows drivers (or the D-Link driver, in the case of the NIC).