AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2006, 12:15 PM
bossa's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 118

thunderbird

Hi All
Had a problem with one of our computers, it refused to start up saying there was a problem with the hard drive and to run chkdsk .This I suspect was caused by my daughter filling up the hard drive with photos and vids.There have been numerous warnings that the HD was too full.I was unable to run safe mode .Anyway I put in another HD and made the original a slave.I can now acsess the Old HD and all the programmes.I was thinking of keeping things as they stand. My question is, when trying to acsess all the emails that were on Thunderbird (on the original HD),they are not there.Are they gone forever?
Can anyone help me out?
Thanks Steve

Also when trying to use other programmes ie 1ClickDVD says I have register .
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by bossa; 15th April, 2006 at 12:23 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2006, 12:31 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Try deleting some of the unnecessary files on that hdd and let him run once more. Then use transfer wizard inside xp to save all emails and precious data onto the new hdd.
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2006, 12:33 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Are you sure that thunderbird doesn't store the emails somewhere outside of the program? Like in documents and settings \ user \ local settings or somwhere like that in the documents and settings hidden folders. That way, it can easily be a multi user application by not storing files publically, but rather privately for the current user.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2006, 01:36 PM
membreya's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: April 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 293
Send a message via ICQ to membreya Send a message via MSN to membreya

C:\Documents and Settings\UserName\Application Data\Thunderbird\Profiles\litaqgwk.default\Mail\Lo cal Folders

That's the default location of the email box..I believe the litaqgwk.default may be variable ..but I can't confirm 100% as I don't use thunderbird anymore.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2006, 01:39 PM
bossa's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 118

Chris
I deleted a load of files ,ran chkdsk and still no go.I'm running a Anti virus as suggested by Windows
Dsio
I think I have found the hidden Thunderbird folders .How would I transfer it to Thunderbird in the new master HD.
Sorry for being so dumb.
Steve
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2006, 01:42 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Yea, what he said. Thats most likely why you can't find the emails when running off another hard drive. Because it stores them in the local application data for the current account.

One of the ways Windows NT distinguishes itself from the Windows 9x versions.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2006, 01:43 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

There is <generally> an import ability. Alternatively, copying the files from the path above that my fellow Australian suggested, and pasting them into the equivilant path (maybe some small variables, but it will be more or less the same) will do the job.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2006, 01:45 PM
membreya's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: April 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 293
Send a message via ICQ to membreya Send a message via MSN to membreya

Quote:
Originally Posted by bossa
Chris
I deleted a load of files ,ran chkdsk and still no go.I'm running a Anti virus as suggested by Windows
Dsio
I think I have found the hidden Thunderbird folders .How would I transfer it to Thunderbird in the new master HD.
Sorry for being so dumb.
Steve
The only stupid question is the one not asked

Go to the folder on your slave drive..copy the inbox file to the clipboard by pressing CTRL+C, locate your data directory on your C: (make sure thunderbird is closed) and then paste it.

You may, when you reopen thunderbird, have two mailboxes.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2006, 02:35 PM
bossa's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 118

Hi membreya
Tried that but Thunderbird still does not show the emails.I put the whole folder from the slave into the coresponding location (aplication data) in the new HD
What do you reckon?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FireFox 1.5 and Thunderbird 1.0.7 Gizmo OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 30th November, 2005 03:32 AM
Mozilla Thunderbird... Lazgoat OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 5 12th January, 2005 12:55 AM
thunderbird 'b' graftonater AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 8th March, 2003 11:56 PM
definative on thunderbird b graftonater AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 5th March, 2003 12:13 AM
Thunderbird AXIA-K ? Aspect404 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 8th February, 2002 08:33 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0