AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 01:01 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Clean install of Vista Upgrade to be painful

Story from the front page:
http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/content/view/1778/1/

They've got your money, now they want to waste your time.

Comments?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 01:30 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Because so many users of knock off copy's of XP will fork out for an actual copy of vista obviously. At what point did the business world begin recruiting clowns I ask you.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 01:34 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

That's pretty stupid, right there, what with all this messing around and the DRM rubbish and so on, I wonder if Vista will actually catch on?

What am I saying!? of course it will, the uninformed will just buy themselves new PCs with Vista and go on living their lives
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 01:50 PM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

I guess that this may be where installing and activating an nlite version of xp onto a removable flash drive may come in useful - I mean from the point of view of not having to shift hdd's around internally. Wondering then whether it would be posible to copy this flash image to DVD. Not to circumvent any copy protection etc - but purely from the point of view of not having to go through all the red tape - i mean it would/should only work on the original pc anyway.

Sounds like a pain- but not some thing i need to worry about any time soon.
__________________
* Antec Fusion - ALiveNF6G-VSTA - X2/4000 - 2GB - 7800GT - XP
* Asus Eee 4G Surf - 1Gb

Last edited by kellamne; 28th January, 2007 at 01:51 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 01:58 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

The best solution will be a disc image of the fresh install once you've been through the rigmarole.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 02:58 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Or not to buy Vista
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 05:54 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Ok Favu wins this round! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 07:48 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~
Ok Favu wins this round! ":O}
Well if I'd known hopelessly miss placed ideallistic optimism was the name of the game I'd have stood a chance!
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 07:52 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

No way Dude, the fix was in from the start! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 07:57 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
Well if I'd known hopelessly miss placed ideallistic optimism was the name of the game I'd have stood a chance!
lots of long words.... but I *think* I know what you mean, and I *think* I agree with it
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2007, 06:17 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

I consider myself one of the lucky ones. I get a free full version copy of Home Premium through work.

Also, are you guys aware that in Home Basic, Home Premium and Business, only the 32bit version is included on the disc. You need to get the 64bit version sent to you from MS. Not sure of costs at this stage.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2007, 11:12 AM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog
I consider myself one of the lucky ones. I get a free full version copy of Home Premium through work.

Also, are you guys aware that in Home Basic, Home Premium and Business, only the 32bit version is included on the disc. You need to get the 64bit version sent to you from MS. Not sure of costs at this stage.
Great...more hassle! I'm already beginning my routine of backing up data for my install of 'Vista Ultimate Edition'.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home

Last edited by Got EpOx; 29th January, 2007 at 11:13 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2007, 05:47 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I'm already backing up from Vista, in fact, I'm running away! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2007, 05:52 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~
I'm already backing up from Vista, in fact, I'm running away! ":O}
So Vista really is incompatable with old hardware hohoho.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2007, 06:55 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
So Vista really is incompatable with old hardware hohoho.
Expect a sharp increase in fly tipping...
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2007, 07:12 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

I really don't see the problem with what Microsoft are doing in this regard. Why should you be able to get round the full cost by having a ripped off version of XP ?

(yes I'm sure that there will be hacks/workarounds etc, of course there will be, it's as inevitable as death)

What I'm more unhappy about is the cost differences between the States and here (UK)
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2007, 07:22 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

OK, this IS just me. But How many people using rips of XP will shell out anything for Vista?

So that leaves EVERYONE in the world who has paid for XP having to install it BEFORE they can upgrade to Vista, EVERY TIME!

How inconvenienced are you prepared to be so Bill can delude himself that no is getting one over on MS?

You see I don't mind people protecting themselves, I mean they have to don't they?

But Bill is willing to make EVERYONE jump though any number of hoops he can devise, none of which have ever really worked, to protect; not the customer who is, lets face it, on his own when it come to MS security,
But rather to try to make Bill "feel" secure in his unending greed.

As to the cost difference, if you will pay it, Bill will charge it.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 29th January, 2007 at 07:50 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2007, 07:32 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Hear hear!
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2007, 07:34 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toro
I really don't see the problem with what Microsoft are doing in this regard. Why should you be able to get round the full cost by having a ripped off version of XP ?

(yes I'm sure that there will be hacks/workarounds etc, of course there will be, it's as inevitable as death)

What I'm more unhappy about is the cost differences between the States and here (UK)
I don't have a problem with MS protecting their property, they have a right to the same as I do.

But, you have to ask yourself is this particular measure really nessasary?

Why could they not simply let you install Vista, without installing XP first. They could then ask for the product keys from both before allowing activation.

Perhaps, they want to put people off buying upgrades in order to sell more full copies? This is M$ we're talking about after all!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah

Last edited by danrok; 29th January, 2007 at 07:35 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2007, 08:01 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I have an upgrade version of W2K, I find it a real PITA just sticking my full copy of 98 in half way though the install. I can't imagine having to install 98 first!!

Apparently the only person whose time is worth anything is Bill.

And WHAT REALLY pisses me off is that it won't work to do a damn thing but piss me off and make Bill happy that he's pissed me off... so I won't be pissed off. I won't use it.... until both it and Bill are very very old, then I'll send him stealth e-mails telling him how badly I'm cheating him! That I install it 5 or 6 times a day, over and over again never once paying him anything.... OK you'll think I'm crazy, but wait till you see what it does to Bill!! ":O}

(I'm looking forward to my retirement....":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Vista Upgrade zyclonb OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 8th June, 2007 02:22 PM
Vista "Clean Install" with an upgrade copy,...Cracked! Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 5 5th February, 2007 05:37 PM
XP Clean Install Size? RussianMissile1 OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 16th July, 2004 11:13 PM
Epox 8RDA3G and clean XP install Rev.Reboot EPoX MotherBoards 2 18th October, 2003 05:34 AM
Help w/clean install of win XP Dragons Gate OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 8 8th December, 2002 08:51 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0