AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2008, 01:39 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Scan to quickbooks

I have a friend that owns a tree service. He uses Quickbooks to track his business and taxes. He asked if there is anyway to scan in his receipts and enter it into Quickbooks that way. He is not very computer savvy and it would have to be fairly easy for him to do it.

I thought of using the OCR from the scanner software but not sure what to do from there. Copy past would work but be tedious.

Any tips???
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2008, 03:14 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I'm not sure the best way of doing this. The difficulties with OCR is that receipts tend to have values in different places, and whatever you use has to be able to locate what needs to be entered.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2008, 07:32 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I use Quickbooks, and used to design and code business software for many years.

In the exciting world of bookkeeping, a receipt refers to a payment received from a customer. But, I suspect you're referring to the bits of paper which cash tills/registers spit out?

I can't see how scanning in bits of paper would be less work than simply entering the creditor name, date, value, etc. I've never encountered any business using OCR for such purposes.

Having a credit account with all creditors, where possible, is the normal way to reduce paperwork.

Manually entering data also provides a safety net, in the hope that a human would notice anything amiss, whereas a scanner will not.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2008, 10:19 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
I use Quickbooks, and used to design and code business software for many years.
Damn Sam! Talk about getting lucky! LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2008, 12:06 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

He is looking for a way to save time. I asked about accounts. And I got a rather long pause.

His wife has not been dependable to do this. I may just sit down with him and see how he does it and see if I can help simplify the process.

I have to get this wreck of a machine working first. I am making the copy for the second time to make sure I have all the data. I will try a repair first. If no go, A reinstall it will be.

I assume that copying the quick book folder back after the program is installed will work to get the data back. I think i have done that before.

I have no way to back it up as it will not boot into windows.


Any ideas on restoring quick books???
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2008, 12:05 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

You need to use the built-in back-up tool, that will give you one file containing all the accounts data.

Then re-install the program, and restore the back-up from within Quickbooks.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2008, 02:39 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I cannot get to the OS at all. It gets there and BSOD and reboots. I have tried everything I normally do and nada....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Purity Scan Toro Data Security 25 17th March, 2005 02:39 AM
McAfee Virus Scan 2005 9.0 $9.99 FS mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 2 23rd December, 2004 02:43 PM
scan.co.uk mixed feelings stigweed Reader's Retailer Ratings & Commentaries 24 17th August, 2004 04:58 PM
Prima Scan Colorado 2400U Dsherm112 General Hardware Discussion 2 3rd December, 2003 04:22 PM
Cat Scan Uncle Bob Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 3 24th March, 2003 09:49 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0