AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2008, 05:12 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

getting ubuntu to play ball with a raid

I have spent a few hours trying to get ubuntu to install on to a raid setup.

Currently i have 2 x 250gb disks set up in a striped raid. I have installed windows xp pro on to it, but only formatted about 3/4 of the drive as ntfs. I have left the last 125gb so i can try and install ubuntu on to it, i have tried 2 methods, although maybe they are 2 ways of doing the same thing but each time the process fails when it tries to create/format partitions.

1st up i tried going by this guide here: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/FakeRaidEdgy I get as fas as: 'Set up partitions'

the 1.3gb free space is something i havnt seen previously and is probably due to when i tried going by another method.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...aid-failed.png
after pressing enter and again selecting yes on the next screen i get an error:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3.../raidsetup.png

The other method involved using the live desktop cd instead: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/FakeRaidHowto . I get as far as installing/updating universe software repository and dm raid in the synaptic package manager, doing: sudo dmraid -ay

then sudo gparted, i have tried creating the partition as unformatted and also as formatted:http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...LEW/gpart1.png
Then i try to apply settings (or apply settings + close gparted then doing the 'sudo dmraid -ay' again then back in to gparted to try and format the partition) but it is unable to do that either:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...W/gparted2.png
which ends up as:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...W/gparted3.png

spent a while on this, im beginning to wonder if i have just missed something blindingly obvious that isn't mentioned in said guides. Would it be easier to just try another flavour of linux to get it to install on to the remaining space of a raid?

thanks in advance

edit: have now broken my winxp installation twice =| glad im trying this on my old machine and notmy new one ^^
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah

Last edited by piccoLEW; 27th July, 2008 at 05:18 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2008, 06:25 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Quote:
Originally Posted by piccoLEW View Post
I have spent a few hours trying to get ubuntu to install on to a raid setup.

Currently i have 2 x 250gb disks set up in a striped raid. I have installed windows xp pro on to it, but only formatted about 3/4 of the drive as ntfs. I have left the last 125gb so i can try and install ubuntu on to it, i have tried 2 methods, although maybe they are 2 ways of doing the same thing but each time the process fails when it tries to create/format partitions.

1st up i tried going by this guide here: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/FakeRaidEdgy I get as fas as: 'Set up partitions'

the 1.3gb free space is something i havnt seen previously and is probably due to when i tried going by another method.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...aid-failed.png
after pressing enter and again selecting yes on the next screen i get an error:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3.../raidsetup.png

The other method involved using the live desktop cd instead: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/FakeRaidHowto . I get as far as installing/updating universe software repository and dm raid in the synaptic package manager, doing: sudo dmraid -ay

then sudo gparted, i have tried creating the partition as unformatted and also as formatted:http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...LEW/gpart1.png
Then i try to apply settings (or apply settings + close gparted then doing the 'sudo dmraid -ay' again then back in to gparted to try and format the partition) but it is unable to do that either:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...W/gparted2.png
which ends up as:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...W/gparted3.png

spent a while on this, im beginning to wonder if i have just missed something blindingly obvious that isn't mentioned in said guides. Would it be easier to just try another flavour of linux to get it to install on to the remaining space of a raid?

thanks in advance

edit: have now broken my winxp installation twice =| glad im trying this on my old machine and notmy new one ^^
I know a little about linux and even less about raid so if there is an obvious flaw in this chalk it up to ignorance.
My thought is to take the drives off raid. Install how you want to and then put the drives back on raid useing super grub to put the MBR back together.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2008, 05:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

It's late and I can't get my eyes to really focus and my brain to really take hold but I didn't want to leave you hanging.. There are a lot of things in that wiki that just aren't needed to set up raid.

Stumbled across this setup guide.. Might have better luck, if not there could possibly be a problem with the intramfs scripts and that will require further attention.

Ubuntu fakeRAID 0 HowTo - 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon - Ubuntu Forums
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP

Last edited by ccperf721p; 28th July, 2008 at 05:40 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2008, 12:22 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

What ccp said is undoubtedly going to better than mine!
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Barry bonds home run #700 ball sold. Jazz Random Nonsense! 2 28th October, 2004 02:17 AM
Beckham's ball likely to fetch millions. mookydooky Random Nonsense! 3 14th July, 2004 05:09 PM
Ball Man Southern Man Random Nonsense! 2 9th July, 2004 12:48 AM
Following Mook's trend, Why does a dimpled ball travel further than a smooth ball keithwalton Random Nonsense! 14 5th July, 2004 06:55 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0