AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2008, 07:14 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Vista & XP install on same machine

I picked up Vista Ultimate from a Microsoft conference and need to install it. Here is my situation...
Hard-drive 1: XP, programs, games
Hard-drive 2: Backup-file partition, 80 Gig partition

I would like to install Vista while being able to boot into XP for playing lan games, photoshop, CAD, etc.
So I'm planning to install Vista on the 80 Gig partition. I've hardly used Vista before and was wondering if there is anything I should be aware of before installing. I wouldn't mind dual-booting but I've never tried it before.
This is more of a test because if Vista will run my games, photoshop, Flash, Dreamweaver, Steam, AutoCAD then I'll keep it and uninstall XP to use on a different machine.
I figured it would be best to ask here before spending hours searching microsoft.com
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2008, 09:43 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

That will work fine. It will just ask you when you boot up which OS you want to boot to. I threw in another drive to play around with it. I need to get used to it due to working on so many machines with Vista. So far I am not sure what I think of it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2008, 01:37 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I am now replying with Vista Uliltmate! It installed just fine. It was quite easy, actually. I asked Vista to format the extra drive and it didn't even ask me for NTFS like XP does. It just formatted on its own and installed the OS in one big-shot. Now, the only problem is that my machine won't give me a choice to boot from XP or Vista. It just automaticlly boots from XP. If I put the Vista disc on the drive then it will boot from Vista.... strange huh?
Should I try a "dual-boot" program or is it too late at this point?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2008, 01:39 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Boot into XP and find the boot.ini file. post it here.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2008, 03:24 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow View Post
Boot into XP and find the boot.ini file. post it here.
@Booman:
You prolly know this already, but just in case-boot.ini is in the root of your windows drive[normally]. It's a hidden system file by default, so if you haven't set explorer to show all files, and to show system files[in the tools/folder options menu]then you'll have to do that to see the file.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2008, 06:16 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Thanks, I knew about hidden files but I've never messed with boot.ini
I'll post the info tonight.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2008, 11:29 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

You need this: VistaBootPRO - Go PRO with Microsoft Windows Vista Boot Manager

This app gives you a straight forward GUI of how to edit boot.ini and what OSes you want to boot and the timer delay, and which one you want to be the default, the website does a pretty good job of explaining. Post back though if you need help.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2008, 07:06 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I'm not quite clear Booman, XP and Vista are on separate drives right?

I duel between W2k and Fedora. I just hit F8 at boot ( Or Esc key On another board) at the boot screen to bring up the Bios boot selection window. I also select the drive I wish to boot at defualt in the BIOS.

I have no idea if all this is useless to you, but thought it might be useful.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 20th October, 2008 at 07:09 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2008, 08:32 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I'll try VistaBootPro and see what it does. Otherwise I just put the Vista disc in my master drive and don't "press any key to boot to CD" and it automaticlly runs Vista. without the disc it automaticlly runs XP.

Daniel - I just want the option to open either OS when I start the computer, without having to go to the bios or doing any setup. I did some searching and found that the Boot.ini is the best way to configure automatic booting so the computer will let me choose.

So far Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Battlefield 2, GRAW, OpenOffice.org all run fine. No gliches at all. I'm hoping every program will run and I'll just uninstall XP to use on a future computer.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2008, 05:24 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I'm glad your good":O}

I'm just interested in why you don't or can't hit esc key or F8 at boot ?That should bring up the entire boot selection, all boot able drives... try it I dare ya! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 21st October, 2008 at 05:25 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2008, 06:23 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I've tried F8 and XP will skip it every time, but I've never tried Esc
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2008, 06:27 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I think it's a BIOS thing rather than OS...I think...":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BTX gaming machine won't install XP home booman CRASHED! 15 23rd June, 2008 05:05 PM
Vista needs a built in Virtual Machine Necorum OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 23rd July, 2007 09:06 PM
Vista "Clean Install" with an upgrade copy,...Cracked! Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 5 5th February, 2007 05:37 PM
Clean install of Vista Upgrade to be painful danrok OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 46 3rd February, 2007 03:49 AM
Cant Install WIN 98 (different machine) The Spyder CRASHED! 11 15th April, 2002 06:28 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0