AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2001, 11:25 PM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

BIOS, hot-flashed done

Yup got my bios chip hot-flashed from my buddy's fine.

Sys up & running OK.

Thanks for the help guyz
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2001, 12:11 AM
Phil's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Bolton, UK
Posts: 1,338
Send a message via ICQ to Phil

Good to hear you didn't trash a second system
__________________
"Let's Blow This Facist Popsicle Stand!"



Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2001, 05:31 PM
silent bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 56

How did you do it I have only HEARD of this being done, its like an Urban Legend or something .LOL congrats on the Hot Swap man

do you acually have to pull out the bios chip while your computer is running?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2001, 06:16 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

The idea is that once the system is up and running, all the accesses to the BIOS should be done to the shadow RAM not the BIOS flash chip.

That way you can remove it whilst the system is powered up, and insert the corrupt flash chip. It does help to make sure that the power and ground to the corrupt chip are connected first! (;
It is potentially dangerous - It's possible to damage chip and motherboard.

AidanII
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 04:32 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Quote:
Originally posted by silent bob
How did you do it I have only HEARD of this being done, its like an Urban Legend or something .LOL congrats on the Hot Swap man

do you acually have to pull out the bios chip while your computer is running?

YUP.
It was easy

I took my chip out"CAREFULLY", then went over to his house with a boot disk & disk with flas prog, shut his sys off took his chip out put it in loose then started his with the DOS boot disk, took his chip out & put mine in then just flashed, peice of cake.
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 02:09 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Lucky. Next time I screw up my BIOS I'll have to try that.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to get a new flashed bios chip for 8RDA3+PRO? SHOUTSAMD EPoX MotherBoards 7 11th March, 2006 06:30 PM
Flashed bios have a problem Reaper1 64 Bit computing 2 13th June, 2004 04:08 PM
Where can I get a newly flashed BIOS? Suggestions? Chilliwilli EPoX MotherBoards 4 10th February, 2004 11:59 AM
flashed bios and cannot get into winXP princejim CRASHED! 5 12th September, 2003 10:23 AM
I flashed my BIOS, I hope I did it correctly? killem1x1 EPoX MotherBoards 10 17th October, 2001 04:34 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0