AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 29th March, 2003, 09:04 PM

Send a message via ICQ to murray6475 Send a message via AIM to murray6475

Folding @Home

Ok,

I'm new to this kind of program. I have D2OL and Seti and know what they do, whats this one do?

My Pentium 4 System
My AMD Athlon XP System

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 29th March, 2003, 10:31 PM
Member/Contributer

Pretty Broad question and I don't have but a minute at the keyboard..

I'll have to refer you to these resources.....

Folding@Home Home Page

AOA Forums FAQ's
I'm sure someone will jump in here and give you a better answer soon .
----------------------------------------------

Last edited by Southern Man; 29th March, 2003 at 10:35 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 30th March, 2003, 01:10 AM

You can probably find out more about folding@Home at the home page as Southern Man suggested, but heres what I know.

Proteins(which are more or less a part of all the chemical reactions in our body) are made of amino acids. Amino acids are molecules consisting of 15-50 atoms.

The recipe for our proteins lie in our DNA. When a copy of our DNA( RNA) is being read in the ribosomes in our cells Proteins are being synthesized fro amino acids. This leads to long chains of amino acids(Ranging from a few to several thousands) These chains need to fold in order to become a "real" protein which can be used by the body.