AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2003, 03:37 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

New upgrade

I've just ordered a Barton 2500+ for my main rig. I'm selling off the 1700+ to a friend, I expect to have him folding too.

I'll be picking up the new CPU tomorrow. Can't wait!


Will be adding a Duron 800 to the farm sometime soon'ish too.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2003, 06:41 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I should have my 2600+ by this week sometime. Of course it's going in my main machine. The 1900+ will replace a 1600+ and the 1600+ will replace a 1 gig duron that's at 1.333 right now. As far as the 1 gig Duron goes, keep an eye out in the classified section!!!
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2003, 04:46 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Initial result is disappointing... Running as XP3000+ right now - but I don't really have time to mess with it atm. I think I will leave it folding at this speed for a while. What Vcores are you all running these at? I need better cooling, I think...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2003, 05:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: By myself
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to Not Slim

Currently running my 2500 @ 1.95V core as it wasn't stable at anything less. Temp is currently 45C under load. Good luck with your overclock.
__________________
8RGA+, Barton 2500 @ 215x10.5 (for the time being), Sapphire 9700 pro @ 405x660, 2X256MB Twinmoss w/Winbond @ 3,2,2,2, Antec True Control 550W, Alpha Pal8045 with one seriously LOUD Vantec Fan, Lian Li PC60 USB with another couple of Vantec Tornado's and other assorted bits.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2003, 06:45 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Thanks!

That high Vcore, eh? I guess I'll try upping it then to get more speed. Its getting hot though...

Stepping is AQXEA 0323 by the way.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2003, 12:00 AM
LP's Avatar
LP LP is offline
Member/Contributer/WCG TEAM CAPTAIN
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 987

Hi Allan. I'm running my 2500 Barton lightly OC'ed right now.
__________________
Registered Linux User #401179
Desktop- Mint 10 Julia, Mint 9 Isadora, PCLOS LXDE 2010.10, Flavor of the Day

Laptop- Windows 7 Premium, AMD Athlon II X2 P340, 250g Seagate HD, ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4250, 4G DDR3 Ram, 15.6" HD LED LCD

Last edited by LP; 8th January, 2006 at 01:58 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2003, 12:15 AM
Matt McFaul's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: monterey peninsula,ca. usa!
Posts: 155
Send a message via AIM to Matt McFaul

Quote:
Originally Posted by LP
Hi Allan. I'm running my 2500 Barton lightly OC'ed right now.

very interesting topic because 2 weeks ago I got my boss one of these 2500+ bartons for his birthday and with a vantec aeroflow it was easily doing 2.25 at 1.65v. I figured this must be one of those downgraded 3000's but that seems a little high for the lack of effort? Anyway since that turned out so good Ill prolly get a few more next week for 24/7 folding machines. Heck now that im so addicted to this I outta just ditch one of my gaming rigs and build about 5 more folding rigs...since ya dont need much for a gpu,psu, or ram for this stuff.
__________________
P4@4ghz,16x250 1:1ddr, prommie cooled, 1gb hyperXpc4000@250 8-4-4-3, ic7max3, dual antec true control 550's, dual raptor 36.4 raid 0 16kstrips,bfg 6800 gt oc at 450/1050 danger den nv40 block, audigy 2zs platinum,viewsonic p220f,klipsch promedia 5.1thx.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2003, 01:10 AM
LP's Avatar
LP LP is offline
Member/Contributer/WCG TEAM CAPTAIN
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 987

Actualy, I think I like the 2100 Tbred's better. I got a lot better OC out of it. I had it running at over 2200 (as a 2800 XP) until I changed motherboards.
__________________
Registered Linux User #401179
Desktop- Mint 10 Julia, Mint 9 Isadora, PCLOS LXDE 2010.10, Flavor of the Day

Laptop- Windows 7 Premium, AMD Athlon II X2 P340, 250g Seagate HD, ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4250, 4G DDR3 Ram, 15.6" HD LED LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2003, 01:37 AM
Matt McFaul's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: monterey peninsula,ca. usa!
Posts: 155
Send a message via AIM to Matt McFaul

Quote:
Originally Posted by LP
Actualy, I think I like the 2100 Tbred's better. I got a lot better OC out of it. I had it running at over 2200 (as a 2800 XP) until I changed motherboards.
Yeah but wouldnt the extra cache be worth it for folding??? I mean you can get these chips now for like $87 at newegg
__________________
P4@4ghz,16x250 1:1ddr, prommie cooled, 1gb hyperXpc4000@250 8-4-4-3, ic7max3, dual antec true control 550's, dual raptor 36.4 raid 0 16kstrips,bfg 6800 gt oc at 450/1050 danger den nv40 block, audigy 2zs platinum,viewsonic p220f,klipsch promedia 5.1thx.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2003, 01:58 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt McFaul
Yeah but wouldnt the extra cache be worth it for folding??? I mean you can get these chips now for like $87 at newegg
My guess is at the same speed, maybe 5-15% improvement, depending on the particular protein, so...

...a barton @ 2.4ghz should match a tbred @ 2.64ghz.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2003, 03:17 AM
Matt McFaul's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: monterey peninsula,ca. usa!
Posts: 155
Send a message via AIM to Matt McFaul

funny thing

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI
My guess is at the same speed, maybe 5-15% improvement, depending on the particular protein, so...

...a barton @ 2.4ghz should match a tbred @ 2.64ghz.
I still think its funny how quickly priorities can change. Last week I wanted to sell one of my systems for another prommie for the gpu and now Im wondering how much I could get for both systems so I can kick it and build a bung load o' folding systems. Figure a "GOOD" gaming system will set ya back at $2k....well with that $2k you could build about 4 really great folding systems...maybe 5.
__________________
P4@4ghz,16x250 1:1ddr, prommie cooled, 1gb hyperXpc4000@250 8-4-4-3, ic7max3, dual antec true control 550's, dual raptor 36.4 raid 0 16kstrips,bfg 6800 gt oc at 450/1050 danger den nv40 block, audigy 2zs platinum,viewsonic p220f,klipsch promedia 5.1thx.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2003, 03:57 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Matt McFaul,
For the best folding systems... there's a new mATX mobo from Epox that should be a killer... All the overclocking features, NF2 chipset, gpu, lan.... all you need is a stick o' memory, and a CPU... how sweet is that!!??? It sounds like a mini 8RGA+.

I just started hearing about it, so it should be available soon in the USA.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2003, 05:22 AM
Matt McFaul's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: monterey peninsula,ca. usa!
Posts: 155
Send a message via AIM to Matt McFaul

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI
Matt McFaul,
For the best folding systems... there's a new mATX mobo from Epox that should be a killer... All the overclocking features, NF2 chipset, gpu, lan.... all you need is a stick o' memory, and a CPU... how sweet is that!!??? It sounds like a mini 8RGA+.

I just started hearing about it, so it should be available soon in the USA.

SWEET... Ill keep my eyes open for that one! The 8rga can be had for cheap too....also I have had some good luck reviving the a7n8x's that have been dying so I may just offer to buy anyones that hasnt been oc'ed but simply died out of the blue!
__________________
P4@4ghz,16x250 1:1ddr, prommie cooled, 1gb hyperXpc4000@250 8-4-4-3, ic7max3, dual antec true control 550's, dual raptor 36.4 raid 0 16kstrips,bfg 6800 gt oc at 450/1050 danger den nv40 block, audigy 2zs platinum,viewsonic p220f,klipsch promedia 5.1thx.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11th July, 2003, 04:30 AM
timbob2469's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pa. USA
Posts: 805

Matt, A co-worker has been thinking of getting one of those A7N8X boards, why have they been dying?
Bob
__________________
EP-8RDA+ v1.0 3827 bios
XP1700+ JIUHB 175 x 12.5=2187MHz. 1.75v
2 x 512MB Crucial pc3200 10, 2, 2, 2.0
THERMALRIGHT SLK900u 92mm Zalman fan, Enlight 420 watt, AIW 9000 Pro 64mb DDR agp4x, voltage mod 1.85v
Home made NB cooler
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11th July, 2003, 04:39 AM
Matt McFaul's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: monterey peninsula,ca. usa!
Posts: 155
Send a message via AIM to Matt McFaul

bios chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by timbob2469
Matt, A co-worker has been thinking of getting one of those A7N8X boards, why have they been dying?
Bob
it seems that there are some bad bios chips out there.....one of mine just up and died one day, so I order a new one from biosworld.com
The one they had sent me was bad too since I tried it on 2 working boards and it sis nothing. So I took a chip from an old msi nforce 1 board and did a hot swap with one of the good boards. It worked and has worked on 2 more that I bought on the net. I dont have any clue how a bios chip just goes bad but the boards have worked great ever since...too bad their not version 2...hehe.

note: the boards that had the bad chips....those chips could never be reflashed again. I tried everyway possible from a bios savior to hot swap to straight eprom machine. Nothing could revive them.
__________________
P4@4ghz,16x250 1:1ddr, prommie cooled, 1gb hyperXpc4000@250 8-4-4-3, ic7max3, dual antec true control 550's, dual raptor 36.4 raid 0 16kstrips,bfg 6800 gt oc at 450/1050 danger den nv40 block, audigy 2zs platinum,viewsonic p220f,klipsch promedia 5.1thx.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2003, 09:06 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I now have the CPU running stable at 2300 MHz. It is better than nothing, but still not as high as I had hoped.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2003, 09:55 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan
I now have the CPU running stable at 2300 MHz. It is better than nothing, but still not as high as I had hoped.
Check sig It's an AQXDA
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When/If to Upgrade RussianMissile1 General Hardware Discussion 4 18th May, 2006 05:18 PM
Upgrade WannaGoFast EPoX MotherBoards 19 25th November, 2005 07:53 PM
OC & RAM Upgrade RussianMissile1 General Hardware Discussion 5 18th March, 2004 02:41 AM
Loading Windows upgrade to upgrade? akaBruno CRASHED! 1 24th February, 2002 05:53 AM
Sys upgrade? Lionfish ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 9 28th November, 2001 07:07 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0