AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2004, 02:06 PM
Chilliwilli's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: England
Posts: 216
Send a message via ICQ to Chilliwilli Send a message via MSN to Chilliwilli

Ok here's my next question.. Dual boot folding data sharing.

Is it possible and has anybody done this? I'd like for my machine to work on the same units when I boot in to Linux or Windows. Both are now set up to run as services. I thought about just having both run from the same folder on my windows partition but then they'd clash over executables.

Any ideas? Cheers, Tom.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2004, 02:07 PM
Chilliwilli's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: England
Posts: 216
Send a message via ICQ to Chilliwilli Send a message via MSN to Chilliwilli

Ahh the helpful similar threads section has just shown me the way. Ignore this post.. sorry.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2004, 02:10 PM
Chilliwilli's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: England
Posts: 216
Send a message via ICQ to Chilliwilli Send a message via MSN to Chilliwilli

Correction.. similar posts just told me how to setup dual boot.. not folding across dual boot.. First question stands.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2004, 06:36 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

I haven't a clue about Linux but here's a guy with the same problem. He got round it using Wine ??? I think he drank it and his problem vanished

http://forum.folding-community.org/v...ight=dual+boot
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2004, 01:40 AM
Chilliwilli's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: England
Posts: 216
Send a message via ICQ to Chilliwilli Send a message via MSN to Chilliwilli

Cheers.. I'll give that a try.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Boot Camp (Dual-Boot) Impressions fantomfreq OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 28th September, 2006 04:39 AM
ODD Question! Getting data off casette tapes. Mord General Hardware Discussion 7 18th May, 2006 05:57 PM
dual machines folding question?????? Matt McFaul ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 2 4th July, 2003 08:06 PM
Data corruption/boot problems on 8kha+ goofee EPoX MotherBoards 0 12th June, 2002 05:23 PM
dual drives or dual boot? thehandler General Hardware Discussion 12 1st April, 2002 07:16 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0