AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2002, 03:44 PM
ItHuNkPuNk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: CA, Bay Area
Posts: 332
Send a message via AIM to ItHuNkPuNk

Sorry guys..

Sorry guys but I had to stop folding.. I just had to...

The folding program behaves almost like a virus!!! My computer has been getting BSODS and the hard drive is constantly active..

I tried turning F@H off and killing CTFMON, but it KEPT COMING BACK!

It just seemed like it was dragging my system down, and consequently, killing my CS server performance. I tried to peacefully coexist with F@home, but couldn't and had to uninstall.....

After uninstalling I find that my hard drive still isn't back to normal and CTFMON is still running! (is this used by other things)

I'll try again once I can put up a dedicated system, but I had to stop.. :nervous: ya gotta believe me :nervous: it was unbearable! :nervous:
__________________
I thunk Punk I did.. yesssireee..
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2002, 04:03 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

It can be a PITA, but the newest clients (2.15 and 2.17) solved many of my issues and some I didn't even know were happening. Hope you can rejoin us
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2002, 04:27 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Sorry, I'm working from memory, but I don't recall seeing CTFmon anywhere. The only programs that should be there are FAH....exe(depending on version) and core_65.exe.

Sounds like you have another program causing your mess. Leave F&H off until you can track down the owner of CTFmon, then zap the bugger.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2002, 04:34 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

I'm not sure exactly what CTFMON.EXE is, but I've got that running too... I don't know if it's part of the folding program (I can't shut the folding off without rebooting), but if it isn't it's probably a system process and you shouldn't shut it down.

Mook.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2002, 04:36 PM
ItHuNkPuNk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: CA, Bay Area
Posts: 332
Send a message via AIM to ItHuNkPuNk

Thanx Pinky.. I hope I can too.. but right now i'm still working on removing the darn thing.. I'ma slap mandrake on this thing and see how it handles on that.... It amazes me that something that is meant to inconspicuously help charity can behave so obnoxiously..

I'm developing an anonymous volunteer client (codenamed VIRUS ) to uh. . . .sorta "help" my friends @ lanparty fold :-D

If they realize some difference in their machines, I can justify it as not being just me.. and don't worry.. i'll let them know about it...



sooner or later...
__________________
I thunk Punk I did.. yesssireee..
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2002, 04:38 PM
ItHuNkPuNk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: CA, Bay Area
Posts: 332
Send a message via AIM to ItHuNkPuNk

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI
Sorry, I'm working from memory, but I don't recall seeing CTFmon anywhere. The only programs that should be there are FAH....exe(depending on version) and core_65.exe.

Sounds like you have another program causing your mess. Leave F&H off until you can track down the owner of CTFmon, then zap the bugger.
can you recommend some ways of tracking it down? I'm pretty certain CTFMON.exe is F@home.. dunno.... but its all of my windows systems..
__________________
I thunk Punk I did.. yesssireee..
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2002, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Guild, TN
Posts: 53

CTFMON.exe is a Office file.

http://support.microsoft.com/default...;EN-US;q282599
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2002, 04:58 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by Shobiz94
CTFMON.exe is a Office file.

http://support.microsoft.com/default...;EN-US;q282599
Glad to see someone's on the ball. Good Job!
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2002, 05:10 PM
ItHuNkPuNk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: CA, Bay Area
Posts: 332
Send a message via AIM to ItHuNkPuNk

Quote:
Originally posted by Shobiz94
CTFMON.exe is a Office file.

http://support.microsoft.com/default...;EN-US;q282599
ah.. my bad.. Thanx! that thing seems to contribute to system slowing as well.. what would the folding program be then? because it seems that F@H keeps running even after I kill it..
__________________
I thunk Punk I did.. yesssireee..
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2002, 05:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Guild, TN
Posts: 53

The only programs that FAH has put in and runs are Core_65.exe and FAH2Console.exe.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2002, 05:27 PM
ItHuNkPuNk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: CA, Bay Area
Posts: 332
Send a message via AIM to ItHuNkPuNk

Quote:
Originally posted by Shobiz94
The only programs that FAH has put in and runs are Core_65.exe and FAH2Console.exe.

I dunno.. I think mine folded itself Artificially Intelligent and now it’s taking over the world one computer at a time, starting with mine..
__________________
I thunk Punk I did.. yesssireee..
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2002, 05:48 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I hope you come back soon, ITP!!

Sounds like you need a format and reinstall there. Try out the v2.19 beta version as well...

http://folding.stanford.edu/beta/
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2002, 11:22 PM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

And I was just gona run a Google on it to see.

Because I don't have it on the Win 98 or XP pro sys's.
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hi Guys Staz Random Nonsense! 30 25th February, 2005 06:59 PM
What do you guys think? mattthegamer463 Case Modifications 8 9th September, 2004 10:11 PM
Sorry Guys Biohazard ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 3 10th November, 2002 03:29 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0