AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2001, 04:07 PM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

Memory Leak

There appears to be some concern about F@H2 having a problem using up free memory. The guys at the Yahoo F@H2 forum have been discussing it and reporting progress to ViJay over at Stanford. The suggested fix is to run a memory manager to check and free up memory periodically. You guys may want to install and run one if you have one. I think there is a couple freeware / shareware programs available out there. I put FreeMemPro on my boxes this morning. It made a big difference on the little slow box with only 36megs of ram. The other systems have 256 and up on them and I haven't noticed a real appreciable difference there.

Just a heads up.

If you want to read about it heres a link to the Yahoo site.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/folding2
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2001, 04:34 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Its good to have you reading around for us all, I'm sure this is a good idea for people without lots of RAM. Get the proggy, and speed up your folding times!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2001, 05:19 AM
silent bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 56

I used Ram Rooster and in 2.0 it flies I have the EngHomeodomain running and in 2 1/2 hoursI got 71 frames done by Optimizing 429mb and man is it faster so thanks SouthernMan nice heads up
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2001, 05:49 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Is it just a win95/98/me problem? Cause I'm using Win2k and only have 140 megs used up at any given time. And that'w with other applications running.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 27th October, 2001 at 05:54 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Halo 3 screenies and the Iraq leak! danrok GAMES! OH YEAH! 10 6th January, 2007 03:07 AM
CAUTION: Leak Test in Progress! BobRoss Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 37 14th September, 2006 07:40 PM
BF2 Patch v1.01 = memory leak WonderBread GAMES! OH YEAH! 5 11th July, 2005 03:57 PM
urgent! 8k9a2+, pc2100 memory or new pc3200 memory C1 code, dont know how to reset arosene EPoX MotherBoards 6 14th April, 2003 06:33 PM
memory leak i think Zodiacal CRASHED! 1 26th February, 2003 12:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0