AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS > Windows 7

Windows 7 Questions and discussion related to Windows 7


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th August, 2009, 05:28 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Software Catastrophic Bug Found in Windows 7 RTM Build, Launch May be Delayed

Written by Daniel
Thursday, 06 August 2009

Just when it looked like Windows 7 was clear to sail to market, a catastrophic bug has been found

Jason Mick (Blog) - August 6, 2009 11:05 AM

The bug reported can blue screen the OS and may result in a delay of the release date. Thus far Microsoft reportedly claims it to be a chipset drivers issue, but testers have found the bug also occurs in VMWare.
Microsoft insists its not to blame.... [Front page...]
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th August, 2009, 05:40 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Yea, I read about that & in the lastest Springboard newsletter I just got they said they are NOT going to delay the launch of W7 at all.
They said that this is a HW dependent problem & has nothing to do with W7 at all.

This I believe as well because of the problems people encounter with this OS.
One has problems while the next works perfectly fine doing the same thing... So...
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 6th August, 2009 at 05:41 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th August, 2009, 06:31 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

That doesn't prove it's not a W7 problem, only that W7 behaves differently on different hardware.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2009, 12:29 AM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Can confirm that it is actually a really huge leak. Having 4 HDD's, i tested this just now on the smallest drive (160Gb, around 90% full), and within 3 minutes, it was chewing up 1.5Gb of the 4Gb RAM i have installed. At this point, i exited out of it.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2009, 12:52 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

0_o

*keeps mouth shut*
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2009, 03:17 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by skool h8r View Post
Can confirm that it is actually a really huge leak. Having 4 HDD's, i tested this just now on the smallest drive (160Gb, around 90% full), and within 3 minutes, it was chewing up 1.5Gb of the 4Gb RAM i have installed. At this point, i exited out of it.
Then if this bad memory leak is in fact true on RTM build 7600.16835 then this is something I will avoid doing.
I very rarely if ever use checkdisk because I use Acronis True Image instead which works better anyways.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 9th August, 2009 at 03:35 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2009, 04:38 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by skool h8r View Post
Can confirm that it is actually a really huge leak. Having 4 HDD's, i tested this just now on the smallest drive (160Gb, around 90% full), and within 3 minutes, it was chewing up 1.5Gb of the 4Gb RAM i have installed. At this point, i exited out of it.
According to what I've read, it will actually chew memory up to an amount equivalent to all FREE physical memory at the time of lauch, minus 50 megabytes, but only if you use the /r option.

According to a post by Steven Sinofsky on a user blog, this is by design in order to speed up the repair process. The underlying assumption is that if you've selected the /r option, you'd rather have the chkdsk completed quickly than to wait for it to work in the background (using /r means that you want to repair the disk and recover data from bad sectors; continuing to work on a disk that is being repaired could be not only counter-productive but dangerous).

In other words, chkdsk using a lot of RAM with the /r option is by design (there are also some reports of it occuring with /f, which is like /r but without the bad sector recovery). However, under NO conditions will memory usage grow without bounds. As stated above by Steven Sinofsky, it will use all of available physical memory at the time it is launched, minus 50 MB).

As I don't have Windows 7 and have no plans to get it, I can't report as to the veracity of the above. All I can point out is that, according to Microsoft, it will NOT bring the system to its knees or cause a BSOD.

Now, I think that the whole 'use all available memory' strategy really ought to have a switch to turn it off, but even if the bug is as described, I'd have a hard time calling it a 'show-stopper' because of the circumstances under which it is said to occur.

Just my $0.02.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2009, 05:43 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Thanks for your insight Gizmo!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2009, 10:54 AM
ShawnP's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 43

Windows 7 64-bit does like memory if it has it. Just running OCCT it is using 47% of my physical memory. I have 8 GBs.
__________________
Intel D975XBX2, Q6600 (Kentsfield), Xig Dark Knight HeatSink, Rev.: B3, 8gigs Ram, 3.4 Ghz temps are at full load: OCCT reads 49 C on all four.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Build List - All (known) compiled build strings and leaks MUff1N Windows 7 0 28th April, 2009 03:49 PM
Upgraded Windows 7 again to build 7077! MUff1N Windows 7 6 17th April, 2009 01:08 PM
Windows XP SP3 delayed to 2008 Gizmo OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 21st October, 2006 03:05 AM
Windows Vista Delayed ! chrisbard OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 13 25th March, 2006 04:25 PM
I found tracking software !!!!!!!! Southern Man ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 58 26th October, 2001 07:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0